TSRI Celebrates 24th Commencement
Researchers Pioneer a Breakthrough Approach to Breast Cancer Treatment
Commencement Remarks: Lessons for the Future
Class of '16



Of Note

Faculty Promotions: Lisa Stowers, Anton Maximov

As announced at a recent meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), institute faculty members Lisa Stowers and Anton Maximov have received promotions.

Stowers is now professor in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience. Her lab studies how cues in the environment are detected and transformed into electrical activity in the brain to generate behavior; her work is determining the rules that generate the information coding of neuronal networks. For more information, see the Stowers lab website.

Maximov has been promoted to associate professor with tenure in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience. The Maximov lab combines genetic, biochemical, optical and electrophysiological methods to study synapse development and function in the central nervous system, leading to a better understanding of factors implicated in a broad spectrum of neurodegenerative and psychiatric disorders, including Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases, autism spectrum disorders, biopolar disorder and schizophrenia. Additional information is available on the Maximov lab website.

Courtney Miller Honored at White House

TSRI Associate Professor Courtney Miller (front row, second from right) poses in the East Room of the White House with fellow recipients of the 2016 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), selected for innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and commitment to community service. President Barack Obama (second row, center) congratulated the winners, who recently spent two days in Washington, D.C., meeting with the administration and sharing insights into their work. (Official White House photo by Lawrence Jackson.)

Raymond Pauszek Receives NIH Research Award

Raymond Pauszek, postdoctoral fellow in the Millar lab, has received a Ruth L. Kirschstein Postdoctoral Individual National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a fellowship supporting promising postdoctoral candidates who have the potential to become productive, independent investigators in scientific health-related research fields.

Pauszek’s research, titled “Single-molecule conformational dynamics of DNA polymerase,” studies the coordination of multiple spatially separated functional domains of polymerase to gain a detailed molecular description of the replication process and an understanding of why this process sometimes fails, leading to mutations and diseases such as cancer.

Send comments to: mikaono[at]

Lisa Stowers has been promoted to professor. (Photo by Michael Balderas.)

Anton Maximov has been awarded tenure. (Photo by BioMedical Graphics.)