Scripps Research Logo

Research Departments

At The Scripps Research Institute, the pursuit of scientific excellence takes an interdisciplinary approach.  While the faculty are organized into 13 academic departments, these departments have soft boundaries.  Rather than defining circumscribed areas of research and isolating faculty members and laboratories into separate and distinct disciplines, the cooperative, collaborative spirit is encouraged and embraced.


Department Chair

Cancer Biology

Thomas Kodadek

Cell and Molecular Biology

Velia Fowler (acting)

Chemical Physiology

Benjamin Cravatt


Dale Boger, Chair

Ben Shen, Vice Chair

Committee on the Neurobiology of Addictive Disorders

Barbara Mason (acting)

Immunology and Microbial Science

Dennis Burton

Integrative Structural and Computational Biology

Ian Wilson

Metabolism and Aging

Roy Smith

Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience

Uli Mueller

Molecular and Experimental Medicine

Jeffery Kelly

Molecular Therapeutics

Patrick Griffin


Ronald L. Davis