In Mapping Feat, Scientists Pinpoint Neurons Where Select Memories Grow
Team Awarded $2.3 Million to Study Dengue Fever and Related Viruses
TSRI Scientists Share Social Media Tips



Of Note

Scripps Florida Awarded NSF Grant for Summer Research Program

Scripps Florida has received a Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) grant from the National Science Foundation, expanding the campus’s summer outreach programs. The three-year grant will fund 10 undergraduate researchers in a new Jupiter campus program titled “SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology.”

“This is a program that NSF has run for a long time,” said The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) Associate Professor Katrin Karbstein, principal investigator for the REU grant. “Students interested in these kinds of opportunities look on the NSF website, and we will be listed there. I think it's a tremendous opportunity for undergraduates—locally as well as statewide and nationally—to be doing research at a first-rate institution.”

The 10-week program will run concurrently with Scripps Florida’s Summer Undergraduate Research Fellows (SURF) and Kenan undergraduate summer programs. Participants in all three programs will experience mentored scientific training in the laboratory, professional development in a classroom setting and specialized training in scientific presentation. The Scripps Florida REU grant provides stipends and housing for participating undergraduates.

Matthias Pauthner Wins HIV/AIDS Research Fellowship

Matthias Pauthner, a graduate student in TSRI Professor Dennis Burton’s lab, has been awarded a fellowship from the California HIV/AIDS Research Program (CHRP). Designed to foster the next generation of HIV/AIDS researchers, CHRP fellowships help young investigators to compete successfully for additional funding, support institutional collaborations and foster critical, targeted research.

Pauthner’s research project, Molecular Characterization of the N332 Supersite of Vulnerability on HIV-1 Envelope, is aimed at isolating and characterizing epitope-specific broadly HIV neutralizing antibodies to inform the rational design of HIV vaccine candidates.

Dejan Caglič, Yannan Zhao, Sheena Saayman Selected for SoF Travel Awards

The Society of Fellows (SoF) has announced the spring cycle California Postdoctoral Travel Award winners. The winning postdoctoral fellows, who will each receive up to $1,000 to cover travel expenses to present their work at a national or international scientific conference, are:

  • Dejan Caglič of the Dickerson lab, presenting at the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) in Vancouver, Canada
  • Yannan Zhao of the Ghadiri lab, presenting at the Keystone Symposia: Exploiting and Understanding Chemical Biotransformations in the Human Microbiome in Big Sky, Montana
  • Sheena Saayman of the Morris lab, presenting at the American Society of Gene and Cell Therapy Annual Meeting in Washington, DC

The SoF will award up to six travel grants in 2014 in two evaluation cycles. The next application deadline is October 1. Postdocs who have never attended a scientific meeting to present their current work are encouraged to apply; additionally, previously unsuccessful applicants are urged to re-apply. Visit the Travel Awards website for details.

Send comments to: mikaono[at]