Scientists Find Antibody that Transforms Bone Marrow Stem Cells Directly into Brain Cells
TSRI Appoints Immunology Researcher to Faculty
Scripps Florida’s Small Green Steps Go Far




Ryan Shenvi Wins Amgen Young Investigator Award

Ryan Shenvi, assistant professor at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), has received one of four nationwide Amgen 2013 Young Investigator‘s Awards, recognizing young researchers’ scientific contributions and commitment to academic excellence that greatly impact the drug discovery field.

Shenvi will present a one-hour seminar at Amgen’s Young Investigator’s Symposium in October. Other award winners are Gong Chen of Pennsylvania State University, Seth Herzon of Yale University and Javier Read de Alaniz of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Research in the Shenvi lab focuses on complex molecule synthesis, exploration of chemical reactivity and expansion of the tools available to synthetic chemists.

Cesare Orlandi and Kristine Griffett Named Travel Award Winners

Cesare Orlandi, research fellow in the Martemyanov lab, and Kristine Griffett, research associate in the Burris lab, have been named winners of the Spring 2013 Mark A. Hall Travel Award, presented by the Society of Research Fellows (SRF) on the Florida campus.

Named in honor of the late Mark Hall, a TSRI postdoctoral fellow in cancer biology, the $1,000 grants are presented twice per year to full-time research associates. The award aims to support postdoctoral fellows pursuing advanced training by offering the opportunity to participate in a premier scientific meeting.

The award supported Orlandi’s participation in the Experimental Biology 2013 conference, held in Boston April 20-24, for an oral presentation of his paper “GPR158 and GPR179: a subfamily of orphan GPCRs as a new class of G protein signaling modulators," selected as a finalist for the Postdoctoral Scientist Award in the Neuropharmacology Division. At the conference, Orlandi also attend the 4th GPCR Colloquium, presented by The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics and featuring 2012 Nobel Laureates in Chemistry Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian Kobilka.

The SRF award will support Griffett’s poster presentation, “Liver Selective Inverse Agonists as Effective Therapeutics for Liver Disease,” at the Endocrine Society’s 95th Annual Meeting and Expo in San Francisco in June. Griffett’s research focuses on the Liver X Receptor (LXR) and its therapeutic potential as a target for the treatment of fatty liver diseases.

The deadline for the SRF Fall cycle travel award is October 1. Additional details are available at the SRF website.

Send comments to: mikaono[at]

Environmental Services Earns McKeown Award 
green team
Environmental Services received the California campus’s 2013 Keith McKeown Green Feat Award for collecting more than 1 million pounds of recycled materials in 2012 via the single-stream recycling program. Shown here with the plaque are Larry DeGreif (left) and Ramon Juarez of Environmental Services. (Photo by Cindy Brauer.)