Scientists Help Unravel a Central Mystery of Alzheimer’s Disease
Team Finds Interferon, One of the Body’s Own Proteins, Induces Persistent Viral Infection
Scientists Illuminate Elusive Mechanism of Widely Used Click Reaction
Karen Marcus to Assist Scripps Florida with Government and Community Relations




Peter K. Vogt Wins International Cancer Research Award

Professor Peter K. Vogt, executive vice president and chief scientific officer of The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), was presented the 2013 Pezcoller Foundation–American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) International Award for Cancer Research at the AACR Annual Meeting, held April 8 in Washington, D.C.

Vogt delivered his award lecture, “PI3K - From Simplicity to Complexity and Back,” during the meeting.

Established in 1997, the award recognizes an internationally renowned scientist who has made a major scientific discovery in basic cancer research or contributed significantly to translational cancer research, with a record of recent, noteworthy publications, and whose ongoing work continues to hold promise for substantive contributions to the field of cancer. 

Vogt is being honored for his pioneering research on the genetic causes of cancer. He was also recently inducted into the AACR Academy’s inaugural Class of Fellows. For more information on the award, see the AACR press release.

Joel Buxbaum Honored with NYU Biotechnology Award

TSRI Professor Joel Buxbaum has received the DART/NYU Biotechnology Faculty/Alumnus Achievement Award, one of three biotechnology achievement honors presented in 2013 by the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine’s Biotechnology Study Center.

The awards recognize the role of pure science in the development of pharmaceuticals and salute scientists whose work has led to major advances to improving care provided at the patient’s bedside. Other 2013 DART/NYU award winners are Susan L. Lindquist of the Whitehead Institute, for basic biotechnology, and Paul A. Marks of the Sloan Kettering Cancer Institute, for applied biotechnology.

A professor of medicine at NYU before joining the TSRI faculty in 1999, Buxbaum was cited for establishing how genetic mutations in normal serum proteins (transthyretin) can influence the basic pathology of amyloidoses or Alzheimer’s disease.

Previous Dart/NYU Biotechnology Achievement Award winners from TSRI include Institute Professor Richard Lerner and Professor Emeritus Charles Weissmann.

TSRI to Co-Host Stem Cell Summit

TSRI will be among the hosts of the 9th annual World Stem Cell Summit December 4 to 6 in San Diego. The multidisciplinary conference will feature more than 170 experts, who will discuss the latest scientific discoveries, business models, translational issues, legal and regulatory solutions, and best practices.

Co-chairs of the event include Jeanne Loring of TSRI, Evan Snyder of Sanford-Burnham, Bernard Siegel of the Genetics Policy Institute, Andre Terzic of the Mayo Clinic and Alan Trounson of the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine.

The event, which is expected to attract more than 1,200 participants, will be held at the Hilton Bayfront, 1 Park Blvd., in downtown San Diego. Additional information on the summit is available at

Send comments to: mikaono[at]