Meth Vaccine Shows Promising Results in Early Tests
Genomics Study Shows Ancestry Could Help Solve Disease Riddles
New Inhibitors of Elusive Enzymes Promise to Be Valuable Scientific Tools
First Annual Scripps Florida Mentorship Award Honors John Cleveland




Aaron Sather and Joseph Jardine Honored for Top Presentations at Lake Arrowhead Retreat

Aaron Sather of the Rebek lab and Joseph Jardine of the Schief lab were honored for their oral presentations at the recent student-faculty retreat of The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) Kellogg School of Science and Technology.

Retreat faculty and students judged Sather’s presentation, “Recognition and Extraction of the Uranyl Ion,” best in the chemistry category and Jardine’s talk, “Rational Immunogen Design to Target Specific Germline B-Cell,” top in the biology category.

The three-day symposium was held at the University of California, Los Angeles, Conference Center in Lake Arrowhead.

Research Fest Celebrates Seminar and Poster Winners

Research Fest 2012: Scientific Symposium and Vendor Show, held October 25 on the Scripps Florida campus, recognized outstanding work among the 38 posters and five oral presentations:

 • Postdoctoral fellow seminars—Silvia Licciulli (first place); Argel Aguilar-Valles, Subhashis Banerjee and Erica Young (runners up)

 • Graduate student seminars—David Marciano

 • Postdoctoral fellow posters—Daniel Slade (first place), Cullen Schmid (second place), Jeremy Lohman (third place)

 • Graduate student posters—Briana Weiser (first place); Andrew MacConnell (second place)

In addition to the more than 300 TSRI researchers who attended the event, Research Fest attracted 160 outside guests including students of the Scripps/Florida Atlantic University (FAU) joint MD/PhD program, FAU faculty, and researchers from Max Planck, Sanford Burnham, Torrey Pines and Palm Beach State College. Organized by the Society of Research Fellows (SRF), the committee for the event consisted of: Sandro Matosevic (SRF president), Josh Kostera (symposium chair), Cathy Trivigno (vendor show chair), Sarah Iqbal, Alex Price, Reji Nair, Cheryl Marra, Mike Matrone and Vanessa Paulman.

Ami Cohen, Marcus Muttenthaler and Hui Xiao Win SOF Travel Awards

Research Associates Ami Cohen of the Koob lab, Marcus Muttenthaler of the Dawson lab and Hui Xiao of the Franc lab have been awarded the Society of Fellows (SOF) Fall Travel Awards. The $1,000 grants cover conference-related costs, including travel, housing and conference registration.

Cohen will use the grant to support his trip to the Neuroscience 2012 Conference in New Orleans, where he presented his project, “The neurobiological mechanisms underlying the transition to compulsive nicotine intake.”

Muttenthaler will use the award for his participation in the 6th Annual Pain Therapeutics Summit in San Jose, CA, where he presented his project, “Conotoxins – Molecular tools to dissect pain pathways.”

Xiao will present his project, “RpS6 is a substrate of the SkpA/Cul-1/Pallbearer E3 ubiquitin ligase and a negative regulator of apoptotic cell clearance in Drosophila” at the 54th Annual Drosophila Research Conference next April in Washington, DC.

The SOF Travel Award winners are determined by selection committee of five postdoctoral fellows; the program is administered by the TSRI Career and Postdoctoral Services Office.

Send comments to: mikaono[at]

Gerald Joyce Inducted into American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Scripps Research Institute Professor Gerald Joyce has become one of 180 new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious learned societies and an independent research center. Shown here in a tradition that dates back to 1780, Joyce signs the AAAS Book of Members during a recent ceremony in Cambridge, MA. (Photo courtesy of AAAS.)