Study Reveals How the World’s First Drug for Amyloid Disease Works
Esther B. O’Keeffe Foundation Gives $2 Million to Scripps Research
Richard A. Lerner Wins Prince of Asturias Award
Peter Farrell and Richard Sloane Elected to Board of Trustees




Francisco Asturias and Claudio Joazeiro Receive Promotions

Francisco Asturias and Claudio Joazeiro, both principal investigators in The Scripps Research Institute Department of Cell Biology, have been promoted, according to an announcement at a recent Scripps Research Board of Trustees meeting.

Asturias has been promoted to associate professor with tenure. The Asturias lab explores the structures of macromolecular complexes involved in eukaryotic gene expression and control, which underlie cell differentiation and development, and play a significant role in the onset of diseases such as cancer. For additional information about Asturias and his work, visit his faculty webpage and lab website.

Joazeiro is now associate professor. Joazeiro and his group are studying the ubiquitin-proteasome system as a way to understand normal cellular function and to develop novel therapeutic approaches for diseases such as cancer and Lou Gehrig’s disease or ALS. Further details about Joazeiro and his work are available on his and laboratory website.

Ryan Baxter Awarded NIH Fellowship

Ryan Baxter, research associate in the Blackmond lab, has received a Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The postdoctoral fellowship supports promising applicants who seek research training in areas related to the scientific programs of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Baxter was awarded the fellowship for his project, “New Methods for Site-Selective Trifluoromethylation of Aromatic Heterocycles.”

Keary Engle and Will Gutekunst Win Roche Excellence in Chemistry Awards

Two Scripps Research graduate students—Keary Engle of the Yu lab and Will Gutekunst of the Baran lab—are among just 12 PhD candidates nationwide who have received a 2012 Roche Excellence in Chemistry Award for research accomplishments in the fields of synthetic organic chemistry, bio-organic chemistry, and computational chemistry.

The winners, who were nominated by their faculty advisors and selected by a committee of Roche scientists, participated in the annual two-day Roche symposium, where the students had opportunities to discuss their research projects, hear about the drug discovery process from Roche scientists, and review case histories in medicinal and process chemistry.

Greg Tabor Receives Ford Fellowship

Greg Tabor, graduate student in the Shenvi lab, has been awarded a 2012 Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship. The Ford Foundation national fellowship competition, administered by the National Research Council, issues 60 awards to individuals who demonstrate “superior academic achievement” and are committed to a career in teaching or research at the college or university level. Award winners are determined by panels of distinguished scholars selected by the National Academies.

A Georgetown University graduate, Tabor has focused his research on the development of method for the rapid buildup of chemical complexity through multiple-bond formation in a single step. The goal is to deploy these methods in the syntheses of natural products in which members exhibit diverse biological activity.

Send comments to: mikaono[at]

Scripps Research investigator Francisco Asturias has received tenure.

Claudio Joazeiro is now associate professor.