Team Achieves Critical Step for Opening Elusive Class of Compounds to Drug Discovery
Scientist Wins $1 Million Drug Development Grant from Novo Nordisk
Photo Album: 50th Anniversary Gala



Photo Album: 50th Anniversary Gala

The Scripps Research Institute celebrated 50 years of excellence in basic biomedical research with a gala held November 5 at the Estancia Hotel in La Jolla, CA. Proceeds from the festive occasion benefited the Scripps Research Kellogg School of Science and Technology, which is ranked among the top ten graduate programs in the nation in its areas of focus, biology and chemistry.

At the Podium
Michael Marletta
(left), Scripps Research president-elect, was master of ceremonies for the event. Also speaking were (left to right) Michael S. Brown, professor at the University of Texas (UT) Southwestern Medical Center and member of the Scripps Research Board of Scientific Governors; Richard Gephardt, chair of the Scripps Research Board of Trustees; and Richard Lerner, president, Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Immunochemistry, and Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Chair in Chemistry at Scripps Research. Also offering remarks were Scripps Research Professor Phil Baran (not pictured), an alumnus of the Kellogg School, and Professor Emeritus Charles Cochrane (see below).

Half a Dozen Nobel Laureates
Six Nobel laureates attended the gala: (left to right) Michael S. Brown
(titles above); Kurt Wüthrich, Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor of Structural Biology and member of the Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at Scripps Research; K. Barry Sharpless, W.M. Keck Professor of Chemistry and member of the Skaggs Institute at Scripps Research; Manfred Eigen, former director of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry and recipient of a 2011 honorary degree from Scripps Research; Gerald Edelman, chair of the Department of Neurobiology and member of the Skaggs Institute at Scripps Research; and Joseph Goldstein, professor and chairman at UT Southwestern Medical Center and member of the Scripps Research Board of Scientific Governors.

Remembering 50 Years
Professor Emeritus Charles Cochrane (left) was among the group of investigators that left the University of Pittsburgh in 1961 to establish the Division of Experimental Pathology, the forerunner of today’s Scripps Research Institute. Led by Frank Dixon, others in the group of founding immunologists were Joseph Feldman, William Weigle, and Jacinto Vasquez; faculty spouses Marion Dixon (center) and Nomi Feldman were at the event to mark the 50th anniversary.

Proclamations of Celebration
lightner bilbray
San Diego City Council Member Sherri Lightner and Congressman Brian Bilbray attended the event, providing proclamations celebrating the historic occasion.

A Tradition of Science
Elizabeth Oldstone, Professor Michael Oldstone, Linda Chisari, and Professor Frank Chisari (left to right) enjoy the reception.

Community Support
strachan kennedy
Attending the event were Scripps Research donors Tamia and David Strachan (left photo), Sharon Walsh (left, right photo), and donor and chair of the Scripps California Council Katherine Kennedy.

Legacy and Vision
Claudia Skaggs Luttrell (left), Scripps Research trustee and president of The Skaggs Institute, and her daughter Jennifer Luttrell were among the attendees.

A Foundation of Educational Excellence
gilula kelly
Joining the celebration were Bessie Huang Gilula (left), widow of the Kellogg School’s first dean, “Bernie” Gilula, and Lowell Dicke, as well as former Kellogg School dean Jeffery Kelly (right), chair of the Scripps Research Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine.

Graduates Shine
erica cravatt
Notable alumni of the Kellogg School include Scripps Research Associate Professor Erica Ollmann Saphire (left) and Chair of the Department of Chemical Physiology Benjamin Cravatt, shown here with his wife Ceclia Cravatt.

Many Reasons to Celebrate
James Williamson (left), dean of graduate and postdoctoral studies, professor, and member of the Skaggs Institute, and Argyrios Theofilopoulos, chair of the Department of Immunology and Microbial Science, enjoy the occasion.

Thanks to our Sponsors

Sponsors of the 50th anniversary event included: Barney & Barney, DPR Construction, Fisher Scientific, Husch Blackwell, U.S. Trust, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management, Olson & Cepuritis Ltd., and Qualcomm.

Patron Table sponsors were: CovX, DataLink/Quantum, Michael Marletta, and VWR. Table sponsors were: Benjamin Cravatt, DPR–Florida, Jeffery Kelly, Sara and Tom Lewis, Fedric and Lundy Reynolds, and The Svet Family.

Gifts in kind were received from VWR (flowers), Stacy & Don Rosenberg (wine), and WSA Marketing and Norfleet Video Productions (materials and video).

Additional gifts to the Kellogg School program were received from: Gary Baker, Frank Chisari, Thomas Dewey, Lockton, Michael B. A. Oldstone, Alan Mendelson, Eleanor Mosca, Fredric and Lundy Reynolds, and Jim Skeen.




Send comments to: