Society of Fellows

The Society of Fellows (SoF) welcomes all members of the Scripps Research community—not just postdoctoral associates—to join our group. Founded in 1962 by Dr. Frank Dixon, our organization has always valued the spirit of collaboration, community and interaction to enhance the trainee experience. Our Distinguished Lecturer Series remains a key mission. Click here to download the SoF Constitution.

Mission Statements

We are a nonprofit, all-volunteer organization designed to encourage both professional and social exchange within Scripps Research, and with postdocs from other institutions in the San Diego area.

We establish and maintain a program of communication and information exchange regarding the institution for all present and former postdoctoral associates.

We sponsor a Distinguished Lecturer Series to bring leaders in the fields of science and technology to Scripps Research's La Jolla, California campus.

We sponsor a Research Symposium each year for Scripps Research postdoctoral associates to share their findings with their colleagues at Scripps Research and compete for monetary awards.


All current and former Scripps Research postdoctoral associates, graduate students and staff are eligible to participate in both SoF activities and leadership on the Executive Committee.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of volunteers elected to the capacities of President, Vice President, Treasurer, DLS Program Chair, Career Development Chair, Social Chair, IBP Chair and Website Manager. A number of non-elected positions also exist within the Executive Committee, particularly as liaisons to other Scripps Research organizations or dedicated volunteers. All Executive Committee members, along with the officers, have voting rights in all SoF decisions. Click here to learn more.

Notice: Campus interest groups are independent entities and are not official units of Scripps Research. Therefore, Scripps Research is not responsible for the acts or omissions of or views and opinions expressed by campus interest groups and/or any members/persons acting on behalf of the groups.