Senior Faculty News:
Promotions and Appointments

Four senior faculty promotions were announced at a recent meeting of The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) Board of Trustees:

Steven Henriksen, who was promoted to professor in the Department of Neuropharmacology. Henriksen (B.A., University of California, Santa Barbara; Ph.D., Stanford University School of Medicine), who joined the institute in 1983, is interested in discerning the functional organization of neural circuits where intrinsic capacities for both normal and abnormal behaviors emerge. To understand how the brain initiates, promotes, and alters behavior, his research seeks to determine the hierarchical role that specific central nervous system neuronal circuits and their chemical messengers have in initiating appropriate complex responses to external (and internal) sensory events.


Juan Carlos de la Torre, who was promoted to associate professor with tenure in the Department of Neuropharmacology. De la Torre (undergraduate degree, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain; Ph.D., Centro de Biologia Molecular Severo Ochoa, Spain) has been at TSRI since 1989. His research focuses on the molecular and cell biology of the prototypic arenavirus LCMV and the novel neurotropic agent Borna disease virus and the mechanisms whereby these viruses persist within the central nervous system, disrupting normal brain function.


Nigel Mackman, who was promoted to associate professor with tenure in the Departments of Immunology and Cell Biology. Mackman (B.Sc., Ph.D., University of Leicester, England), joined the institute in 1987 as a research fellow. His laboratory studies the crosstalk between the coagulation protease cascade and inflammation using human monocytic cell lines and human monocytes to elucidate the positive and negative regulatory intracellular signaling networks and transcription factors that control the expression of procoagulant and inflammatory genes. In addition, the lab generates transgenic models to examine the role of these proteins in sepsis and ischemia-reperfusion injury.


Luc Teyton, was promoted to associate professor with tenure in the Department of Immunology. Teyton (M.D., Caen Medical School; Ph.D., University of Paris, France) arrived at TSRI in 1997. His research focuses on the structure and function of T cell receptor activations, antigen presentatio, and innate receptor recognition.


In other news about senior faculty, investigator Hugh Rosen has joined the institute:

Hugh Rosen, professor in the Department of Immunology, and chair, Committee for Advanced Human Therapeutics. Rosen (M.D., University of Cape Town; D.Phil., University of Oxford) studies the regulation of lymphocyte trafficking and immunosuppression by lysophospholipid receptor agonists. He uses biological and chemical approaches to suppress or stimulate the immune response and derive better potential therapies for transplantation rejection and autoimmune diseases.