Generous Gifts Make Possible the First Norton B. Gilula Fellowships and 11 Other Merit Awards for TSRI Graduate Students

The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) Office of Graduate Studies has announced the names of 13 graduate students who have been selected to receive merit-based fellowships for the 2001-2002 academic year. These awards include the Norton B. Gilula Graduate Student Fellowship, which honors the memory of the late dean of graduate studies and vice president of scientific affairs, Norton B. Gilula.

"Congratulations to the award winners," says Jeffery Kelly, dean of graduate studies and vice president of academic affairs, "and many thanks to the donors of these fellowships. Because of their generosity, we have the opportunity to recognize some of the great talent within TSRI's graduate programs."

The Gilula Fellowship, which is primarily supported by contributions from TSRI's faculty and administration, has been awarded to:

  • Nicholas Larsen, fourth-year Macromolecular and Cellular Structure and Chemistry Graduate Program (MCSC) student;
  • Alan Saghatelian, fifth-year Chemistry Graduate Program student.

The Bauce Fellowship, supported by the William and Sharon Bauce Family Foundation, has been awarded to:

  • Dwight Barnes, third-year MCSC student;
  • Kevin Capps, second-year Chemistry student;
  • Gordon Wilkie, fifth-year Chemistry student.

The Fairchild Fellowship, supported by a gift from David and Ursula Fairchild, has been awarded to:

  • Ted Foss, second-year MCSC student.

The Jabinson Fellowship, supported the Louis R. Jabinson Investigatorship Fund created by trusts left to TSRI upon the death of Marguerite Jabinson, has been awarded to:

  • John Blankenship, fifth-year MCSC student;
  • Changshou Gao, fourth-year Chemistry student;
  • David Gray, fourth-year Chemistry student;
  • Mike Hanson, third-year Chemistry student;
  • Junjie Liu, fifth-year Chemistry student;
  • Jason Schnell, fifth-year MCSC student;
  • Junko Tamiya, fifth-year Chemistry student.

The Fletcher Jones Fellowship, supported by a 1993 grant from The Fletcher Jones Foundation to endow a graduate student fellowship, has been awarded to:

  • Tom Wu, second-year Chemistry student.

The selection criteria for these fellowships are primarily based on excellence in research as demonstrated by publications and contributions to the graduate program.


A new fellowship this year honors the memory of TSRI scientist and administrator Norton B. Gilula.