About TSRI
Research & Faculty
News & Publications
Scientific Calendars
Scripps Florida
PhD Program
Campus Services
Work at TSRI
TSRI in the Community
Giving to TSRI
Site Map & Search

The Skaggs Institute
for Chemical Biology

Scientific Report 2008 (pdf)

President's Introduction

Director's Overview

Staff Awards and Activities


Julius Rebek, Jr., Ph.D.*
Professor and Director

Carlos F. Barbas III, Ph.D.**
Janet and W. Keith Kellogg II Chair in Molecular Biology

Tamas Bartfai, Ph.D.***
Chairman, Molecular and Integrative Neurosciences Department, Scripps Research
Director, Harold L. Dorris Neurological Research Institute

Ernest Beutler, M.D.
Chairman, Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine, Scripps Research

Dale L. Boger, Ph.D.*
Richard and Alice Cramer Professor of Chemistry

Geoffrey Chang, Ph.D.**
Associate Professor

Benjamin F. Cravatt, Ph.D.****
Chairman, Department of Chemical Physiology
Director, Helen L. Dorris Child and Adolescent Neuro-Psychiatric Disorder Institute

Gerald M. Edelman, M.D., Ph.D.*****
Chairman, Department of Neurobiology, Scripps Research

Albert Eschenmoser, Ph.D.*

Martha J. Fedor, Ph.D.**
Associate Professor

M.G. Finn, Ph.D.*

Elizabeth D. Getzoff, Ph.D.††

M. Reza Ghadiri, Ph.D.*

Kim D. Janda, Ph.D.*
Ely R. Callaway, Jr., Chair in Chemistry
Director, Worm Institute for Research and Medicine

Gerald F. Joyce, M.D., Ph.D.†††
Dean, Faculty

Ehud Keinan, Ph.D.**
Adjunct Professor

Jeffery W. Kelly, Ph.D.*
Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry
Chairman, Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine, Scripps Research

Richard A. Lerner, M.D.†††
President, Scripps Research
Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Immunochemistry
Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Chair in Chemistry

Stephen P. Mayfield, Ph.D.††††
Associate Dean, Kellogg School of Science and Technology

Ulrich Müller††††

K.C. Nicolaou, Ph.D.*
Aline W. and L.S. Skaggs Professor of Chemical Biology
Darlene Shiley Chair in Chemistry
Chairman, Department of Chemistry, Scripps Research

Paul R. Schimmel, Ph.D.††
Ernest and Jean Hahn Professor and Chair in Molecular Biology and Chemistry

Peter Schultz, Ph.D.*
Scripps Family Chair

K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D.*
W.M. Keck Professor of Chemistry

Lisa T. Stowers, Ph.D.††††
Assistant Professor

John A. Tainer, Ph.D.**

Paul Wentworth, Jr., Ph.D.*

James R. Williamson, Ph.D.†††
Dean, Graduate and Post Graduate Studies

Ian A. Wilson, D.Phil.**

Chi-Huey Wong, Ph.D.*
Ernest W. Hahn Professor and Chair in Chemistry

Peter E. Wright, Ph.D.**
Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Investigator in Biomedical Research
Chairman, Department of Molecular Biology, Scripps Research

Kurt Wüthrich, Ph.D.†††
Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor of Structural Biology

Rebek Laboratory†††††

Dariush Ajami, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Molecular Assembly

Research Associates

Mark Ams, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Barrett, Ph.D

Fernando R. Pinacho Crisotomo, Ph.D.‡‡
Burnham Institute for Medical Research
La Jolla, California

Henry Dube, Ph.D.

Richard J. Hooley, Ph.D.‡‡
University of California
Riverside, California

Jun-Li Hou, Ph.D.

Seiji Kamioka, Ph.D.

Lionel Moisan, Ph.D.‡‡
Gif-Sur-Yvette, France

Severin Odermatt, Ph.D.

Agustì Lledó Ponsati, Ph.D.

Per Restorp, Ph.D.

Michael Schramm, Ph.D.‡‡
California State University
Long Beach, California

Siddhartha Shenoy, Ph.D.

Craig Turner, Ph.D.

Shengxiong Xiao, Ph.D.

* Joint appointment in the Department of Chemistry
** Joint appointment in the Department of Molecular Biology
*** Joint appointment in the Molecular and Integrative Neurosciences Department
**** Joint appointment in the Departments of Chemical Physiology and Chemistry
***** Joint appointment in the Department of Neurobiology
†† Joint appointments in the Departments of Molecular Biology and Immunology
†††Joint appointments in the Departments of Chemistry and Molecular Biology
†††† Joint appointment in the Department of Cell Biology
†††††Rebek laboratory staff. Staff of the other members are listed in their respective departments
Appointment completed
‡‡ Appointment completed; new location shown


Front cover: A key structure of Ebola virus. Scientists at The Scripps Research Institute, led by Erica Ollmann Saphire, have determined the structure of a critical protein from Ebola virus. This image shows the virus spike protein (blue and white), which is necessary for entry of Ebola virus into human cells, bound to an immune system antibody (yellow) acting to neutralize the virus. The structure provides a major step forward in understanding how the deadly virus works and may be useful in developing vaccines against or treatments for Ebola virus infections. Image created by Christina Corbaci, administrative assistant, and Jeff Lee, Ph.D., senior research associate, in the laboratories of Erica Ollmann Saphire, Ph.D., associate professor, and Dennis Burton, Ph.D., professor. X-ray images courtesy of Dr. Lyle Conrad, Cynthia Goldsmith, and Dr. Fred Murphy, Centers For Disease Control and Prevention.