About TSRI
Research & Faculty
News & Publications
Scientific Calendars
Scripps Florida
PhD Program
Campus Services
Work at TSRI
TSRI in the Community
Giving to TSRI
Site Map & Search

Scientific Report 2005

Kellogg School of Science and Technology

The 36 new students in the Kellogg School of Science and Technology at Scripps Research entered a thriving program that continues to provide innovation and excellence. All first-year students now attend a class called Critical Thinking and Communication in Science. In addition to bringing the students together, the course provides a shared intellectual foundation for their studies, whether the students are focusing on chemistry, chemical biology, biology, or biophysics. Entering students also come together with upper-class colleagues and faculty at the Graduate Student/Faculty Retreat. This annual event, which achieves the standards of excellence of many professional conferences, encourages exchange among Scripps Research students and faculty and provides a forum for students’ presentations.

Also enriching the Kellogg School experience are a number of recently launched collaborative programs. These include the Skaggs Oxford Scholarships Program, a joint graduate program in biology, chemistry, and biochemistry at Scripps Research and Oxford University in England. The program has named its first scholars: Erin Scherer, Michael Barnes, and Yee Hwee Lim. Skaggs Oxford Scholars from both Scripps Research and Oxford University campuses will spend approximately 3 years at one location before moving across the Atlantic to finish their doctoral work at the other institution. These students will graduate with a Ph.D. jointly awarded by Scripps Research and Oxford University.

In addition, for the first time, students at Scripps Research now include those in the Medical Scientist Training Program, which offers education in both clinical medicine and biomedical research. In this collaboration, students attend medical school at the University of California, San Diego, and then complete doctoral work in a Scripps Research laboratory. They graduate with both an M.D. and a Ph.D.

May 2005 saw 21 students graduating from the Kellogg School of Science and Technology. The school’s 13th commencement celebrated their accomplishments and honored the keynote speaker, Scripps Research Professor Emeritus Floyd Bloom. In his speech, Dr. Bloom pointed to the challenges that face science today, notably helping to address pressing problems in healthcare. He also commented on the great promise of science today:

Even occasional observers of the scientific scene know that this past decade has witnessed some incredible achievements by the worldwide research community. In fact, the incredibility itself is the noteworthy feature—things once thought to be impossible have in fact been accomplished. Like the 4-minute mile, which was once believed to be the limit of human running capacity, preconceived limits in several scientific fields have been made obsolete. The continuous emergence of such advances suggests that other barriers that are acceptable by today’s logic could eventually yield to persistent research.

The 2005 graduates now join the ranks of Scripps Research alumni—not only a source of pride for the institute but also a growing resource for current and future students. An alumni database (http://alumni.scripps.edu), which is free and runs on an “opt-in” basis, was launched last year as a career contact tool for those with a Scripps Research affiliation. The database is available to current students and postdoctoral fellows, the approximately 200 Ph.D.s who have graduated from the Scripps Research doctoral program, and hundreds of former Scripps Research postdoctoral fellows in academic and industrial positions around the world.

In the past year, the students of the Kellogg School further distinguished themselves with a number of prestigious awards. Bryan O’Neill won a grant from the Tobacco-Related Disease Research Program. Hao Xu was selected for the Bristol-Myers Squibb Graduate Fellowship in Synthetic Organic Chemistry. Yang Xu won the Novartis Graduate Fellowship in Organic Chemistry for Minorities and Women. Kyle Chiang was awarded a grant from the California Breast Cancer Research Program. Sara Brownell and Kathryn Thompson won National Science Foundation Fellowships. Ryan Shenvi was awarded a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship. Mark Zak won the Eli Lilly Graduate Fellowship in Organic Chemistry.

Additional support for outstanding students was provided by the ARCS Foundation, the Bagel Fellowship, the Bauce Family Foundation, the Baxter Foundation, the Gilula Fellowship, the Fletcher Jones Foundation, Robert Loch, Lesly Starr Shelton, the Gustavus and Louise Pfeiffer Research Foundation, the Andrea Elizabeth Vogt Memorial Award, Arthur Weiner, and other generous donors.


Jeffery W. Kelly, Ph.D.
Vice President,
   Academic Affairs
Lita Annenberg Hazen
   Professor of Chemistry