Scripps Research Logo

News Release

K. Barry Sharpless to Receive National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences

La Jolla, CA, January 21, 2000 -- K. Barry Sharpless, Ph.D., W.M. Keck Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry and The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), has been selected to receive the National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences. The prize is awarded annually for innovative research in the chemical sciences that, in the broadest sense, contributes to a better understanding of the natural sciences and to the benefit of humanity.

Sharpless was chosen for his discovery of three asymmetric chemical reactions the Sharpless Epoxidation, Dihydroxylation, and Aminohydroxylations which have revolutionized organic chemistry by transforming asymmetric synthesis from near-impossible to routine. The prize, currently supported by the Merck Company Foundation, has been presented since 1979. He is one of 14 individuals who will receive awards honoring their outstanding contributions to science on May 1, 2000, at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., during the Academy's 137th annual meeting.

Sharpless received his B.A. from Dartmouth College in 1963 and a Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1968. In 1970, following postdoctoral studies at Stanford and Harvard Universities, he joined the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After three years at Stanford in the late 1970s, he returned to MIT as Arthur C. Cope Professor of Chemistry. He joined TSRI's faculty in 1991. Sharpless was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1985. Other significant honors include the Tetrahedron Prize, the American Chemical Society's Award for Creative Work in Organic Synthesis and the Arthur C. Cope Award; the Prelog Medal (Switzerland); the Janssen Prize (Belgium); the Scheele Medal (Sweden); the King Faisal International Prize for Science (Saudi Arabia); the Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry, American Chemical Society; the Harvey Prize of the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology; and he was listed among the "Top 75 Contributors to the Chemical Enterprise," in the 75 years since the founding of Chemical & Engineering News.


For more information contact:
Office of Communications
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, California 92037