Scripps Research Logo

News Release

Two Scientists at The Scripps Research Institute Named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

La Jolla, CA, October 27, 1998- Two scientists at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) have been selected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their distinguished efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its application. Donald E. Mosier, Ph.D., M.D., Professor, Department oflmmunology, and Peter E. Wright, Ph.D., Chairman, Department of Molecular Biology, and Professor, The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology, have been singled out by their peers for this unique distinction. They will be honored at a special ceremony held during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Anaheim, California on January 23, 1999.

Mosier joined TSRI's staff in 1992 as a Professor in the Department of Immunology. He concurrently serves as Adjunct Professor, Department of Pathology, University of California, San Diego. He was the Scientific Director of the Medical Biology Institute, La Jolla, from 1990-1992, and served as a Member in its Department of Immunology from 1985-1992. Previously, he was Chief, Research Pathology Section, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia, from 1982-84, and Research Physician, The Institute for Cancer Research, Fox Chase Cancer Center, from 1979-1985. From 1971-1978, he held a number of research positions at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland. Mosier serves on a number of NIH advisory panels and has held editorial positions with the Journal of Immunology and Virology. He received a Ph.D. in pathology from University of Chicago, and a medical degree from the University of Chicago, Pritzker School ofMedicine.

Wright became Chairman ofTSRI's Department of Molecular Biology in 1987, and a Professor in The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology in 1996. He also currently serves as Foreign Adjunct Professor, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, and Adjunct Professor, The Salk Institute, La Jolla. Prior to his appointment at TSRI, he was a Senior Lecturer at the University of Sydney. From 1972-1976 he served as a Research Associate and Postdoctoral Fellow in inorganic chemistry at University of Oxford. Wright has received the NIH Merit Award in 1994, an honorary Doctor of Medicine degree from the

Karolinska Institute, and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1995. The Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Molecular Biology, he has served or is currently on the editorial boards of a number of scientific journals, including Biochemistry, Current Opinion in Structural Biology, Journal of Biomolecular NMR, Macromolecular Structures, Peptide Research, and inScight.

In addition, he has been an advisor to such organizations as the NIH, National Science Foundation, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Wright holds a Ph.D. in chemistry from University of Auckland.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows distinction began in 1874. This year, 283 members have been so honored. Founded in 1848, AAAS represents the world's largest federation of scientists and has more than 144,000 individual members. The Association publishes the weekly peer-reviewed journal, Science.


For more information contact:
Office of Communications
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, California 92037