Scripps Research Logo

News Release

Dr. Michael B. A. Oldstone Receives 1997 J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine

La Jolla, CA. July 9, 1997 -- Michael B. A. Oldstone, M.D., has been named a recipient of the 1997 J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine. He is head of the Division of Virology and a member of the Department of Neuropharmacology at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), where he has been on staff since 1966.

This year, the Taylor Prize is being awarded to three scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the understanding of virus-host interactions. Other awardees are Dr. Bernard Roizman, University of Chicago; and Dr. Bernard Moss, National Institutes of Health. The prize consists of a medallion, a framed certificate and a cash award. It is awarded by the John P. Robarts Research Institute, the largest privately directed medical research facility in Canada, and an affiliate of both London Health Sciences Centre and The University of Western Ontario.

Oldstone has been recognized for his work in defining how viruses persist by escaping the immune system and characterizing the diseases persistent viral infections cause. He also is being noted for his observations that viruses can cause autoimmune disease. A graduate of the University of Maryland School of Medicine, he began his career at TSRI as a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Experimental Pathology in 1966. He became an associate member of the Department of Immunopathology in 1972, and a member of the Department of Immunology in 1978. In 1989, he was named head of the Division of Virology, Department of Neuropharmacology, as well as a member of the department.

Oldstone is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the Rous-Whipple Award for Research Excellence in Investigative Pathology, Abraham Flexner Award and Lectureships for contributions in biomedical research from Vanderbilt University, Cotzias Award and Lecture for Research Excellence in Nervous System Disease from the American Academy of Neurology, The Maurice C. Pincoffs Award and Lecture in Medicine from the University of Maryland Medical School, the National Institutes of Health Visiting Scholar Award, and the Andrew Mark Lippard Award and Lecture from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. Recently, he was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

Oldstone has served on a number of prestigious advisory boards and currently is a scientific counselor for NIAID, and a member of the scientific advisory group of experts for the World Health Organization, Geneva Program for Vaccine Development.

He has held positions on editorial boards including those of the Annual Review of Immunology, Journal of Immunology, Journal of Infectious Diseases, served as editor of The Journal of Virology, and currently serves as editor of Virology and advisory editor of the Journal of Experimental Medicine.

In addition to his appointment at TSRI, Oldstone is an adjunct professor in the Departments of Neurosciences and Pathology at the UCSD School of Medicine.

For more information contact:
Office of Communications
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, California 92037