Scripps Research Logo

Leadership Overview

As a non-profit organization, The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) is governed by its Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees establishes policies, exercises powers as stated in the bylaws, controls property, and conducts the affairs for the institute. The Board of Trustees delegates certain powers to the administration of the institute, while serving as the ultimate decision-making unit. The institute's president is the chief executive officer in charge of all institute operations. He/she is responsible for carrying out policies established by the Board of Trustees and in so doing has the power to delegate authority to officers of the institute. TSRI's Board of Scientific Governors—comprised of some of the world's top scientists—provides guidance on the institute’s research directions.