Professor of Chemistry,
Executive Director of Medicinal Chemistry, and
Associate Dean, Kellogg School of Science and Technology
The Scripps Research Institute, Scripps Florida


B.S., University of California, 1974
PhD., Harvard University, 1977
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Harvard University, 1977-78


B.S. in Chemistry, Summa Cum Laude, 1974                                                                                 
Phi Beta Kappa, 1974                                                                                                          
Merck Faculty Development Award, 1981                                                                        
Eli Lilly Grantee, 1981-83                                                                                                        
Roger and Georges Firmenich Career Development Chair
in Natural Products Chemistry (MIT), 1981-84                                                            
Fellow of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, 1982-86                                                                
Alan R. Day Award of the Philadelphia Organic Chemist's Club, 1992                          
Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, American Chemical Society, 1994                                  
ACS Akron Section Award, 1996                                                                                       
Merit Award, National Institute of General Medical Sciences, 1998                                 
Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, University of Michigan, 1998                      
Paul G. Gassman Distinguished Service Award
ACS Division of Organic Chemistry, 2002                                                             
ACS Ernest Guenther Award in the Chemistry of Natural Products, 2004                    
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2006                              
Fellow, American Chemical Society, 2009