Scripps Research Logo

Pathogenesis Affinity Group

The Bernard Fields Lectures on Microbial Pathogenesis

The Bernard Fields Lectures on Microbial Pathogenesis is an annual lecture series in memory of Bernard N. Fields (March 24, 1938 — January 31, 1995).  Bernard Fields was a recognized leader in the field of viral pathogenesis and will be remembered for emphasizing the importance of defining molecular parameters that affect disease.  As an architect of an expanded approach to studying viral infections, he along with Michael Oldstone is credited with spearheading the current resurgence of research on how viruses cause damage. Fields used the power of molecular genetic and cellular methods to take viruses apart and identify the functions of specific genes in causing disease.

The Bernard Fields Lectures on Microbial Pathogenesis is sponsored by the Bernard Fields Memorial Lecture Fund, The Ray A. and Robert L. Kroc Lecture Fund, and the Pathogenesis Affinity Group.

Past Lecturers:

2014 Lecturers

Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D., Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Harvey J. Alter, M.D., National Institutes of Health 

2013 Lecturers

Bernard Roizman, Sc.D., The University of Chicago
Yoshihiro Kawaoka, D.V.M., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 

2012 Lecturers

Mary K. Estes, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston
Beatrice H. Hahn, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

2011 Lecturers

Beth Levine, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
John Mekalanos, Harvard

2010 Lecturers

Peter Palese, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York
Malcolm A. Martin, NIAID, NIH

2009 Lecturers

Kevin Campbell, HHMI, University of Iowa
Donald Ganem, HHMI, University of California, San Francisco

2008 Lecturers

Carol Greider, Johns Hopkins
Abner Notkins, NIH

2007 Lecturers

Douglas Lowy, NIH, NCI
Bruce Walker, Harvard

2006 Lecturers

Robert Webster, St. Jude
Hilary Koprowski, Thomas Jefferson University

2005 Lecturers

Charles Weissmann, The Scripps Research Institute
J. Michael Bishop, University of California, San Francisco

2004 Lecturers

Rafi Ahmed, Emory 
Mary-Claire King, University of Washington

2003 Lecturers

Stephen Harrison, Harvard 
Bernard Moss, NIAID, NIH

2002 Lecturers

Bruce Chesebro, NIH Rocky Mountain Labs
Barry Bloom, Harvard

2001 Lecturers

Terence S. Dermody, Vanderbilt 
Ari Helenius, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

2000 Lecturers

Don Wiley, HHMI, Harvard 
Max Nibert, University of Wisconsin-Madison, now Harvard

1999 Lecturers

John Skehel, Medical Research Council, Mill Hill
Herbert Virgin, Washington University