Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Claudio Joazeiro, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of CMB
Department of Molecular Medicine
Florida Campus
Laboratory Website
(561) 228-3211

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

Role of the ubiquitin-proteasome system in cellular regulation and disease

E3 ubiquitin ligases are the components that confer specificity to the ubiquitin system. Consistent with their critical role in cellular regulation, mutations affecting E3s can cause human disease—as illustrated by the cases of BRCA1 in breast cancer and of Parkin in Parkinsonism. Our laboratory is engaged in three main areas of research related to E3s:

  1. We are interested in elucidating E3s' function and mechanisms. For this purpose, we utilize cell and molecular biology approaches with mammalian cells, mice and yeast; our expertise is complemented by close collaborations on structural biology, bioinformatics, mass spectrometry, next-generation sequencing, and fly models;
  2. We utilize the information we learn from the above studies to develop assays that are amenable to high-throughput screening, which are then used to identify small molecule inhibitors of E3 ligases. Such compounds can then be both turned into tools to interrogate biology, and developed as pharmaceutical drug candidates;
  3. We collaborate with clinicians to translate our basic research findings into therapeutically-relevant discoveries.


M.S., University of Sao Paulo, 1990
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 1996

Awards & Professional Activities

Board member: Proteome Science (2003-present); Current Biodata, Ubiquitin-Proteasome System (2006-present). Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, Career Development Award. 2000 American Cancer Society, Cancer Research Scholar. 2009-2012

Selected References

For a complete list of publications:

Chu, J., Hong, N., Masuda, C., Jenkins, B., Nelms, K., Goodnow, C., Glynne, R., Wu, H., Masliah, E., Joazeiro, C.A.P. and Kay, S.A. 2009. A mouse forward genetics screen identifies LISTERIN as an E3 ubiquitin ligase involved in neurodegeneration. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA vol. 106: 2097-2103

Deshaies, R.J. and Joazeiro, C.A.P. 2009. RING Domain E3 Ubiquitin Ligases. Annual Review of Biochemistry vol. 78: 399-434

Li, W., Bengtson, M., Ulbrich, A., Matsuda, A., Orth, A., Chanda, S., Batalov, S. and Joazeiro, C.A.P. 2008. Genome-wide and Functional Annotation of Human E3 Ubiquitin Ligases Identifies MULAN, a Mitochondrial E3 that Regulates the Organelle’s Dynamics and Signaling. PLoS ONE vol. 3:e1487


A Brand New MULAN Makes Her Debut

Claudio Joazeiro Wins American Cancer Society Grant

Sinalizador celular

Jornal da Ciência

Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
Cravatt, Benjamin
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Nicholson, Laura
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Niedernhofer, Laura
Phinney, Donald G.
Robbins, Paul
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty