Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Celine DerMardirossian, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Molecular Medicine
Department of Molecular Medicine
California Campus
Laboratory Website
(858) 784-8217

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Assistant Professor of Immunology, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

My laboratory is interested in understanding the mechanics of signaling components that govern cancer cell movement. During cancer development, cells evade from primary tumor to invade distinct organs, a process called metastasis. During this event, tumor cells must move through tissues which require increased cell motility driven by remodeling of the cytoskeleton, cell-cell contacts and interactions with the extracellular matrix. Cells can switch their movement in response to the microenvironments. Our studies decipher the molecular components and the signaling mechanisms that orchestrate the modes of cancer cell migration in an adaptive response to the surroundings in the hope that this knowledge will ultimately contribute to new therapeutic strategies to treat cancer.


Ph.D., Biology/Biochemistry, University of Paris-Orsay XI, 04/1

Selected References

 Spiering D, Sabouri-Ghomi M, Dagliyan O, DerMardirossian C, Hodgson L, Danuser G, Hahn KM. . (2016) "FRET binding antenna reports spatiotemporal dynamics of GDI-Cdc42 GTPase interactions." Nature Chemical Biology Oct;12(10):802-9. PMID: 27501396

Delorme-Walker V, Seo JY, Gohla A, Fowler B, Bohl B, DerMardirossian C (2015) "Chronophin coordinates cell leading edge dynamics by controlling active cofilin levels." Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 112: E5150-5159. PMID: 23624884.

Timothy Huang, S Michael, Xu T, Sarkeshik A, Moresco J, Yates JR 3rd, Masliah E, Bokoch GM, DerMardirossian C. (2013) "A novel Rac1 GAP splice variant relays poly-Ub accumulation signals to mediate Rac1 inactivation". Molecular Biology of the Cell, 24, p194-209.

Ritu Pathak, Violaine D. Delorme-Walker, Michael C. Howell, Anthony N. Anselmo, Michael A. White, Gary M. Bokoch and Céline DerMardirossian. (2012) "The Microtubule-associated Rho Activating Factor GEF-H1 interacts with Exocyst complex to regulate Vesicle Traffic". Developmental Cell, 23, p397-411.

Nicolas Taulet, Violaine D. Delorme-Walker and Céline DerMardirossian. (2012) "Reactive Oxygen Species Regulate Protrusion Efficiency by Controlling Actin Dynamics". PlosOne, 7.

Delorme-Walker V., Peterson J., Chernoff J., Waterman C., Danuser G. Bokoch G.M. and DerMardirossian C. (2011) "Pak1 regulates focal adhesion strength, myosin IIA distribution, and actin dynamics to optimize cell migration". Journal of Cell Biology, 7, p1289.

Bielek, H., Anselmo A., and DerMardirossian C. (2009) "Morphological and proliferative abnormalities in renal mesangial cells lacking RhoGDI". Cell Signal, 12, p1974-1983.

Huang* TY, DerMardirossian*C, Bokoch GM. (2007) "Cofilin phosphatases and regulation of actin dynamics". Current Opinion Cell Biology, 18, p26-31.

DerMardirossian C, Rocklin G, Seo J, Bokoch GM. (2006) "Phosphorylation of RhoGDI by Src regulates Rho GTPase binding and cytosol-membrane cycling". Molecular Biology of the Cell, 17 p4760-4768,

DerMardirossian C, Schnelzer A, Bokoch GM. (2004) "Phosphorylation of RhoGDI by Pak1 mediates dissociation of Rac GTPase". Molecular Cell; 15: 117-127.

Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
Cravatt, Benjamin
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Nicholson, Laura
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Niedernhofer, Laura
Phinney, Donald G.
Robbins, Paul
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty