Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Michael Cameron, Ph.D.

Scientific Director, Sr
Associate Professor of Molecular Medicine
Department of Molecular Therapeutics
Florida Campus
Laboratory Website
(561) 228-2223

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Translational Research Institute
Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

The Cameron Laboratory works on a variety of independent and collaborative projects centered on the metabolic fate of new chemical compounds. We explore the role of drug metabolism in chemical induced toxicity and drug-drug interactions. Current projects include evaluation of reactive metabolites and their role in drug induced toxicity, time and mechanism based inhibition of cytochrome P450, and the development of chemical tools to differentiate CYP3A4 and CYP3A5 activity in biological samples. The lab is also involved in several translational projects focused on the development of clinical candidates or molecular probes for the study of biological pathways. The lab offers Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics (DMPK) expertise, collaborating with medicinal chemistry, biology and pharmacology groups. The lab evaluates such factors as chemical and metabolic stability, solubility, oral absorption, rat and mouse pharmacokinetics, tissue distribution, protein binding, P450 inhibition, reactive intermediate formation, and metabolite identification to help refine molecules. Current projects include optimization of neuropeptide Y Y2 receptor antagonists, orexin-1 receptor antagonists, (GABA) B receptor positive allosteric modulators, neurotensin 1 receptor agonists, a5* nicotinic acetylcholine receptors, positive allosteric modulators, kappa opioid receptor antagonists, and functionally biased mu opioid receptor agonists.  

Professional Experience

Medicinal Chemistry, Post-Doctoral research at the University of Washington
research area: drug metabolism and P450 allosterism

Biochemistry, Ph.D., Utah State University
research area: biotransformations, free radicals, protein structure/function relationships

Chemistry, Bachelor of Science, Gonzaga University

Selected References

Eno MR, El-Gendy BE, Cameron MD. P450 3A Catalyzed O-dealkylation of Lapatinib Induces Mitochondrial Stress and Activates Nrf2. Chem Res Toxicol. 2016 Mar 9. [Epub ahead of print] PMID:26958860.

Eno MR and Cameron MD. Guaging Reactive Metabolites in Drug-Induced Toxicity. Curr Med Chem. 2015;22(4):465-89.

Chang MR, He Y, Khan TM, Kuruvilla DS, Garcia-Ordonez R, Corzo CA, Unger TJ, White DW, Khan S, Lin L, Cameron MD, Kamenecka TM, Griffin PR. Antiobesity Effect of a Small Molecule Repressor of RORγ. Mol Pharmacol. 2015 Jul;88(1):48-56.

Li X, Jeso V, Heyward S, Walker GS, Sharma R, Micalizio GC, Cameron MD. Characterization of T-5 N-oxide Formation as the First Highly Selective Measure of CYP3A5 Activity. Drug Metab Dispos 2014 Mar;42(3):334-42.


Cameron Lab / DMPK Website

Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
Cravatt, Benjamin
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lazzerini Denchi, Eros
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Niedernhofer, Laura
Phinney, Donald G.
Robbins, Paul
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty