Vol 11. Issue 2 / January 17, 2011


Thomas Burris and Ehud Keinan Named AAAS Fellows
Two Scripps Research Institute scientists – Thomas Burris, professor in the Department of Molecular Therapeutics, and Ehud Keinan, adjunct professor in the Department of Molecular Biology – have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

According to the AAAS announcement, Burris was recognized for outstanding research contributions to the field of nuclear receptor action and pharmacology, particularly in the area of chemical biology of orphan nuclear receptors. The announcement cited Keinan’s distinguished contributions to biocatalysis and bioorganic chemistry, and his work disseminating science as editor of Israel Journal of Chemistry and president of the Israel Chemical Society.

The two will be presented official certificates and gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pins February 19 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the organization’s 2011 annual meeting in Washington, D.C. They join 501 other newly ranked 2011 AAAS fellows, each selected through a three-stage nomination and award process.

Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal, Science, as well as Science Translational Medicine. The organization includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. The Scripps Research faculty includes 21 AAAS fellows.

Raymond Moellering Awarded HHMI Damon Runyon Fellowship
Raymond Moellering, research associate in the Carvatt lab, has been named an HHMI Damon Runyon Fellow by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation, a nonprofit organization focused on supporting innovative early career researchers. A three-year award, the HHMI Damon Runyon Fellowship recognizes outstanding postdoctoral scientists conducting basic and translational cancer research in the laboratories of leading senior investigators across the country.

In announcing the fellowship, the foundation cited Moellering’s work investigating cancer cell communication. “Understanding the process will provide insights into many aspects of tumor progression and may identify new opportunities for therapeutic intervention,” the announcement noted.

Keary Engle Recognized as 2011 Cross Scholar
Keary Engle, Kellogg School of Science and Technology graduate student working in the Yu lab, is one of eight student recipients of the 2011 K. Patricia Cross Future Leader Award, presented by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U).

According to the AAC&U, the awards recognize graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education and demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and others, and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning. The award is named in honor of K. Patricia Cross, professor emerita of higher education at the University of California, Berkeley.

The award winners were chosen in a competitive process from a pool of more than 225 nominations, according to the AAC&U. The 2011 Cross Scholars will be introduced to the AAC&U community at its 2011 Annual Meeting, in San Francisco, from January 26 to 29. For more information, see: http://www.aacu.org/press_room/press_releases/2011/cross_scholars.cfm .



Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu