Vol 10. Issue 35 / November 15, 2010


K. C. Nicolaou Wins Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry
K. C. Nicolaou, chair of the Department of Chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute, has won the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry. Franklin Institute Awards are given for outstanding achievements that have enhanced the quality of human life and deepened our understanding of the universe; Nicolaou is being recognized "for his achievements in synthetic organic chemistry, particularly for the development of methods for preparing complex substances found in nature, which have potential applications in the field of medicine."

Past recipients of the Franklin Awards, which date back to 1824, include Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Marie Curie, Stephen Hawking, Francis Crick, Jacques Cousteau, and Jane Goodall, as well as Scripps Research Professors Albert Eschenmoser and K. Barry Sharpless.

The 2011 awards will be presented on the evening of Thursday, April 28, as part of a week of Franklin Institute activities celebrating science and the spirit of discovery and the two-week Philadelphia Science Festival.

Sanja Arandjelovic Receives Arthritis Foundation Special Research Award
Sanja Arandjelovic, a research associate in the Mowen lab, has received a postdoctoral fellowship from the Arthritis Foundation with a special award designation, the Philip S. Magaram Esq. Research Award. According to the Arthritis Foundation, this designation is made to a researcher whose proposal receives a score of excellent in the National Peer Review, reflecting the quality of Philip Magaram's commitment to the foundation. Arandjelovic's research in the Mowen lab focuses on the molecular biology of rheumatoid arthritis.






Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu