Vol 9. Issue 14 / April 27, 2009


Bruce Beutler Wins 2009 Albany Medical Center Prize
Bruce Beutler, chair of the Department of Genetics at The Scripps Research Institute, has been named co-recipient of the prestigious Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, with Professor Ralph M. Steinman of The Rockefeller University and Professor Charles A. Dinarello of the University of Colorado. The trio was cited for groundbreaking discoveries that have transformed the field of immunology.

"Collectively, the work of these scientists has led to a dramatically better understanding of the human immune system, in health and in disease," said James J. Barba, president and chief executive officer of Albany Medical Center, who served as chair of the National Selection Committee. "That knowledge has already directly resulted in new therapies for people with conditions including rheumatoid arthritis, diabetes, Crohn's disease, and cancer. And, the discoveries they have made about how the body senses and responds to infection remain the basis of active research that holds the promise of new and improved vaccines and innovative ways to harness the power of the immune system to better fight viruses and bacterial illness. Their achievements are nothing short of astounding."

The Albany Medical Center Prize was established in 2000 by the late Morris "Marty" Silverman to honor scientists whose work has translated from "the bench to the bedside" resulting in better outcomes for patients.

To date 16 scientists have received the Albany Medical Center Prize. One of the world's largest prizes for biomedical research, it includes a personal award of $500,000, to be shared equally among the co-recipients. Among the past prizewinners, ten have also received the Lasker award. Three additionally received the Nobel prize.

This year's co-recipients were honored at a news conference and luncheon held April 24 at the Hilton Garden Inn at Albany Medical Center. For more information on the prize and its recipients, see: www.amc.edu.

Sandra Schmid Wins ASBMB's Rose Award

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) has awarded Sandy Schmid with The William C. Rose Award. This prestigious award recognizes outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and a demonstrated commitment to the training of younger scientists as epitomized by the late Dr. Rose.

As the winner of the award, Schmid presented a lecture at the April 2009 ASBMB meeting in New Orleans,where she also received a plaque.

Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu