Vol 8. Issue 34 / November 10, 2008

Trustees Fund Graduate Student Fellowships

For the first time this year, 15 first-year graduate students in The Scripps Research Institute's Kellogg School of Science and Technology are receiving support from a new fund called the Leadership Fellows Fund. The fund was created with contributions from Scripps Research board members, who made a three-year pledge to the initiative.

"I was thrilled with the generosity of our trustees," said Wendy Keeney, California vice president of philanthropy. "The awards, which go to first-year students, were helpful in recruiting outstanding candidates to our graduate program, enabling us to make attractive offers compared to other top institutions."

Will Melton, Florida vice president of philanthropy, added, "Our trustees really enjoy meeting graduate students because these young people personify the intellectual rigor and tradition of innovation that makes Scripps Research excel. They know that this kind of multi-year commitment to training the next generation of scientific leaders is one of best philanthropic investments they can make."  

This year's entering class to the Kellogg School—which is currently ranked among the top ten nationally in both chemistry and biology by U.S. News & World Report and other publications—consists of 53 students, 45 on the California campus and eight on the Florida campus. All first-year students are currently taking classes, including the required Critical Thinking and Communication in Science class, and completing lab rotations.

Recipients of the new fellowships are:

  • Maria Bagonis, from State University of New York Binghamton
  • Myles Dillon, from University of California, San Diego
  • Candacia Greeman ,from Bryn Mawr College
  • Igor Rupniewski, from University of California, Berkeley
  • Nathaniel Wang, from University of California, Berkeley
  • Katherine Duncan, from Amherst College
  • Keary Engle (also a Skaggs Oxford scholar), from University of Michigan
  • Will Gutenkust, from University of Oklahoma
  • Paul Hernandez, from University of California, Berkeley
  • Alexander Kislukhin, from Russian Academy of Science
  • Denis Malyshev, from Russian Academy of Science
  • Andrew Ryan, from Carleton College
  • Mark Schallenberger, from University of Montana
  • Brady Worrell, from Purdue University
  • Jun Yin, from Indiana University

The Scripps Research Board of Trustees, comprised of 29 individuals from business, science, law, medicine, government, finance, and philanthropy, meets frequently and reviews major decisions concerning the policies, finances, operations, and direction of Scripps Research. It oversees governance of both the institute's La Jolla-based campus and its division in Palm Beach County, Florida.


The new Leadership Fellows Fund is supporting graduate students at the Kellogg School of Science and Technology. Shown here are (front row, left to right) Alexander Kislukhin, Maria Bagonis, Candacia Greeman, Jun Yin, and Katharine Duncan; (back row, left to right) Andrew Ryan, Nathaniel Wang, Denis Malyshev, Igor Rupniewski, Will Gutekunst, Myles Dillon, Mark Schallenberger, Keary Engle, and Paul Hernandez. (Brady Worrell is absent).


Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu


















"I was thrilled with the generosity of our trustees."

—Wendy Keeney