Vol 7. Issue 36 / December 3, 2007


Ernest Beutler Honored with First Wallace H. Coulter Award
Ernest Beutler, chair of the Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine, has been selected to receive the first annual Wallace H. Coulter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Hematology. The award was established this year to honor an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment and outstanding contribution to hematology, and who has made a significant impact on education, research, and/or practice. The award will be presented to Beutler this month at the annual meeting of the American Society of Hematology.

Cindy Ehlers Wins 2007 Thurman Award
Cindy Ehlers, associate professor in The Scripps Research Institute's Molecular and Integrative Medicine Department (MIND), has won the 2007 Thurman Award from the University of North Carolina School of Medicine. The award, established by the school's Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies to honor the excellence of the late Ronald G. Thurman's research and teaching, is given annually to a distinguished researcher contributing to the knowledge of alcohol and liver function.


Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu