News Release

AAAS and The Scripps Research Institute Announce 2003 Fellows

Washington, D.C. and La Jolla, CA. October 30, 2003 - Dale L. Boger and Bernard Babior of The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) in La Jolla, CA have been awarded the distinction of AAAS fellows, an honor bestowed upon members by their peers.

Awarded to 348 members this year, the rank of fellow is given for efforts to advance science or applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin Saturday, February 14, at the Fellows Forum during the 2004 AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle, Washington.

This year's AAAS fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal, Science on October 31, 2003.

As part of the Chemistry Section, Dale L. Boger was elected AAAS Fellow for "outstanding developments in the synthesis and understanding of the structure-activity relationship of complex natural products of medicinal importance."

Boger, who is the Richard and Alice Cramer Professor of Chemistry at TSRI, received a B.S. with honors and Highest Distinction Award in Chemistry from the University of Kansas and a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Harvard University. Boger was a professor at Purdue University before joining the faculty of TSRI in 1991. Prior to that, he was a member of the faculty at the University of Kansas.

As part of the Medical Sciences Section, Bernard Babior was elected AAAS Fellow for "pioneering studies in unraveling the function and physiology of the human neutrophil."

Babior is professor and head of the Division of Biochemistry in the Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine at TSRI. He received his B.A. from the University of California at Los Angeles, his M.D. from the University of California at San Francisco, and his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Harvard

University. Prior to joining TSRI in 1986, Babior was a physician at New England Medical Center Hospital in Boston and was a professor at Tufts University School of Medicine.

The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by a steering group from one of the association's 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the chief executive officer.

Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the Board of Directors, the Retiring Section Chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies.

The Scripps Research Institute is the largest, private, non-profit research organization in the U.S. It has attained recognition as a center of excellence in a highly focused branch of research, the nexus of the structure of biological molecules and their cellular functions with chemical synthesis.

Founded in 1848, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has worked to advance science for human well being through its projects, programs, and publications, in the areas of science policy, science education and international scientific cooperation. AAAS and its journal, Science, report nearly 140,000 individual and institutional subscribers, plus 272 affiliated organizations in more than 130 countries, serving a total of 10 million individuals. Thus, AAAS is the world's largest general federation of scientists. Science is an editorially independent, multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed weekly that ranks among the world's most prestigious scientific journals. AAAS administers EurekAlert!, the online news service, featuring the latest discoveries in science and technology.

Contact: Carol Hoy, (202) 326-6434

For more information contact:
Office of Communications
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, California 92037


For more information, contact See More News