Gala Celebrates 50 Years

The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) celebrated 50 years of excellence in basic biomedical research with a gala held November 5, 2011 in La Jolla, CA. Net proceeds of the special occasion benefited the TSRI Kellogg School of Science and Technology, which is ranked among the top ten graduate programs in the nation in chemistry and biology.

Among the 300 people in attendance, distinguished guests included six Nobel laureates, TSRI scientists, loyal supporters, and local San Diego civic and business community leaders. The program honored the past, celebrated the present and looked towards the future.

TSRI's president-elect Michael Marletta was master of ceremonies for the event. Also speaking were Professor Emeritus Charles Cochrane; Professor Phil Baran, an alumnus of the Kellogg School; Michael Brown, Professor at the University of Texas (UT) Southwestern Medical Center and member of the TSRI Board of Scientific Governors; Richard Gephartdt, chair of the TSRI Institute Board of Trustees; and Richard Lerner,  president.

Six Nobel laureates attended the gala: Michael S. Brown; Kurt Wüthrich, Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor of Structural Biology and member of the Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at TSRI; K. Barry Sharpless, W.M. Keck Professor of Chemistry and member of the Skaggs Institute at TSRI; Manfred Eigen, former director of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry and recipient of a 2011 honorary degree from TSRI; Gerald Edelman, chair of the Department of Neurobiology and member of the Skaggs Institute at TSRI; and Joseph Goldstein, professor and chairman at UT Southwestern Medical Center and member of the TSRI Board of Scientific Governors.

Richard Lerner was paid a special tribute for his visionary leadership over the past 25 years. It was his vision that led to TSRI's expansion, including the opening of an east coast campus in Florida.  Many of the Institute’s flagship programs, including the graduate school, are hallmarks of his contributions.

Sponsors of the event included: Barney & Barney, DPR Construction, Fisher Scientific, Husch Blackwell, U.S. Trust, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management, Olson & Cepuritis Ltd., and Qualcomm.

Patron Table sponsors were: CovX, DataLink/Quantum, Michael Marletta, and VWR. Table sponsors were: Benjamin Cravatt, DPR–Florida, Jeffery Kelly, Sara and Tom Lewis, Fedric and Lundy Reynolds, and The Svet Family.

Gifts in kind were received from VWR (flowers), Stacy & Don Rosenberg (wine), and WSA Marketing and Norfleet Video Productions (materials and video).

Additional gifts to the Kellogg School program were received from: Gary Baker, Frank Chisari, Thomas Dewey, Lockton, Michael B. A. Oldstone, Alan Mendelson, Eleanor Mosca, Fredric and Lundy Reynolds, and Jim Skeen.

To support The Scripps Research Institute in world-class biomedical research that leads to improved treatments and saved lives, visit: