Scripps Research Logo

Zorrilla Lab Members

Team       Alumni      Photo Gallery

Team

Photo of Eric Zorrilla, Ph.D.

Eric P. Zorrilla, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, TSRI

Committee on The Neurobiology Of Addictive Disorders

Molecular and Integrative Neurosciences Department

- and-

Associate Adjunct Professor, UCSD

Department of Neurosciences

Neurosciences Graduate Program

ezorrilla@scripps.edu

[Publications]

[Curriculum Vitae] (as of 06/12)

Photo of Marian L. Logrip, Ph.D.

Marian L. Logrip, Ph.D.

Research Associate

858.784.8026

mlogrip@scripps.edu

[Publications]

Dr. Logrip joined the lab in September 2008. She earned her Ph.D. in Neuroscience from UCSF (2007), mentored by Drs. Dorit Ron and Patricia Janak, where she was awarded a Predoctoral NRSA from NIAAA to study, "BDNF, dynorphin and alcohol intake." Here, at Scripps, Marian’s research focus has been on how stress and alcohol interact and the role of stress-induced neuroadaptations in modulating alcohol self-administration. For her project, Dr. Logrip was awarded a Postdoctoral NRSA Fellowship from NIAAA entitled, "Stress history enhances ethanol self-administration: role of neuronal pentraxin 2."

Photo of Sarah Parylak

Sarah Parylak, Ph.D.

Professional Scientific Collaborator

858.784.7470

sparylak@scripps.edu

[Publications]

Sarah joined the lab as a UCSD Neurosciences Graduate Group Ph.D. student in April 2008. She earned a B.S. in Biology at Duke University, where she completed an honors thesis that examined sex differences in cocaine response in the lab of Dr. Cynthia Kuhn.  Her current research focuses on compulsive feeding behavior in rodents and the role that endocannabinoids play in regulating food intake and metabolism, for which she was awarded a Predoctoral NRSA Fellowship from NIDA.

Photo of Jennifer B. Frihauf

Jennifer B. Frihauf

UCSD Ph.D. Student

858.784.7464

jfrihauf@scripps.edu

[Publications]

Jen joined the lab in April 2008 as a PhD student in the UCSD Neurosciences Graduate Program. She earned a B.S. in Cognitive Science-Neuroscience from UCSD, where she completed an honors thesis in the laboratory of Dr. George Koob. She then participated in the NIH Post-Baccalaureate Research Training Program, where she worked in the laboratory of Dr. Leslie Ungerleider at NIMH. Her current project focuses on novel hypothalamic genes that regulate energy balance and the role of maternal diet in offspring obesity. In 2011, she was awarded a Predoctoral NRSA Fellowship from NIDA.

Photo of Mary Gichuhi

Mary Gichuhi

Administrative Assistant

858.784.7412

mgichuhi@scripps.edu

Ms. Gichuhi has provided all administrative support for the lab since 2007.  She is responsible for many tasks, including budgets; account reconciliation; and applying for, maintaining and renewing grants and contracts. She oversees all matters related to animal welfare and use, including the administration of amendment and renewal of animal protocols and importation and exportation of rare animals.  Mary oversees all personnel administration, including tracking of hours and PAF forms and assistance with hiring and recruitment procedures.  Finally, among other tasks, she handles all administration of lab travel, including reimbursements.

Photo of Rheall Roquet

Saba Naamo

UCSD Undergraduate - 196 Honors Student

snaamo@scripps.edu

Photo of Nathan Tran

Amber Kazi

UCSD Undergraduate - 199 Independent Research

akazi@scripps.edu

Photo of Sameeha Khalid

Sameeha Khalid11

UCSD Undergraduate - 199 Independent Research

skhalid@scripps.edu

Photo of John Condello

John Condello

UCSD Undergraduate - 199 Independent Research

condello@scripps.edu

Photo of Karan Fernandes

 

Karen Fernandes

UCSD Undergraduate - 199 Independent Research

kfernandes@scripps.edu

Photo of Ryan Muir

Ryan Muir

UCSD Undergraduate - 199 Independent Research

rmuir@scripps.edu