Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Xiaohua Wu, Ph.D.

Department of Molecular Medicine
California Campus
Laboratory Website
(858) 784-7910

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

DNA double-strand break repair and cell cycle checkpoints in mammalian cells

Gross chromosomal arrangements (GCRs) are hall markers of cancer cells, and DNA double-stand breaks (DSBs) are the major cause of cancer-associated genome instability. Unrepaired DSBs can lead to chromosomal breakage and cell death, while incorrectly repaired DSBs would lead to genome instability. The research interest of my laboratory is to understand the molecular mechanisms underlying the function of DNA damage checkpoint and DSB repair to maintain genome stability and prevent cancer and aging. We have established novel EGFP-based DSB repair assays and chromosomal translocation mouse models to investigate the mechanisms underlying DSB repair and chromosomal rearrangement. We are also interested in understanding the role of the breast cancer suppressor BRCA1, and other disease-linked and genome-stability maintenance genes, such as Nbs1, Mre11 and CtIP, in the maintenance of genome stability.


Ph.D., Biology, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, 1995

Professional Experience

Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Cancer Biology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, 1996-2001

Awards & Professional Activities

New Scholar in Aging, Ellison Medical Foundation

Selected References

Hailong Wang, H., Li, Y., Truong, L.N., Shi,L.Z., Hwang, P.Y.H., He, J., Cho, M.J., Li, H., Negrete, A., Shiloach, J., Berns, M.W., Shen, B., Chen, L. and Wu, X. (2014) CtIP maintains stability at common fragile sites and inverted repeats by end resection-independent endonuclease activity. Molecular Cell 54:1012-1021.

Truong, L., Li, Y., Shi, L., Hwang, P., He, J., Wang, H., Razavian, N., Berns, M., and Wu, X. (2013) Microhomology-mediated End Joining and Homologous Recombination share the initial end resection step to repair DNA double-strand breaks in mammalian cells. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) 110:7720-7725.

Wang, H., Shi, L.Z., Wong, C.C., Han, X., Hwang, P.Y., Truong, L.N., Zhu, Q., Shao, Z., Chen, D.J., Berns, M.W., Yates JR 3rd, Chen L, Wu X. (2013) The interaction of CtIP and Nbs1 connects CDK and ATM to regulate HR-mediated double-strand break repair. PLoS Genetics 9:e1003277.

Liu E., Lee A.Y., Chiba T., Olson E. Sun P. and Wu X. (2007) ATR-mediated S-phase checkpoint prevents DNA rereplication in mammalian cells when the licensing control is disrupted. Journal of Cell Biology 179: 643-657.

Olson E., Nievera C.J., Liu E., Lee A.Y., Chen L. and Wu X. (2007) The Mre11 complex mediates the S-phase checkpoint through an interaction with RPA. Molecular and Cellular Biology 27: 6053-6067.

Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
Cravatt, Benjamin
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Nicholson, Laura
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Niedernhofer, Laura
Phinney, Donald G.
Robbins, Paul
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty