Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Paul Russell, Ph.D.

Department of Molecular Medicine
California Campus
Laboratory Website
(858) 784-8273

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

Preservation of Genome Integrity; Cellular Responses to Environmental Toxins
Understanding how cells respond to genotoxic and cytotoxic stress is essential for developing new strategies to prevent and treat cancer and many other diseases. We investigate these mechanisms in fission yeast, an experimental organism ideally suited for high throughput genetic screens, proteomic analysis of protein complexes, whole genome expression analysis by microarray, chromatin immunoprecipitation, and live cell imaging of signaling proteins by deconvolution microscopy.


B.S., Biology, University of California, Irvine, 1978
Ph.D., Genetics, University of Washington, 1982

Professional Experience

ZymoGenetics, Inc. Seattle, Washington, 1982-1983
University of Sussex, England, 1983-1984, with Sir Paul Nurse
Imperial Cancer Research Fund (ICRF) Laboratories, Lincoln’s Inn Fields, London, England, 1984-1987, with Sir Paul Nurse

Selected References

For a complete list of publications:

Jensen, K.L., Russell, P. (2016) Ctp1-dependent clipping and resection of DNA double-strand breaks by Mre11 endonuclease complex are not genetically separable. Nucleic Acids Res. 44,8241-8249.

Guo, L., Ganguly, A., Sun, L., Suo, F., Du, L.L., Russell. P. (2016) Global fitness profiling identifies arsenic and cadmium tolerance mechanisms in fission yeast. G3, 6, 3317-3333.

Mejia-Ramirez, E., Limbo, O., Langerak, P., Russell, P. Critical function of γH2A in S-phase. PLoS Genet. 11:e1005517, 2015.

Caetano, C., Limbo, O., Farmer, S., Klier, S., Dovey, C., Russell, P., de Bruin, R.A. Tolerance of deregulated G1/S transcription depends on critical G1/S regulon genes to prevent catastrophic genome instability. Cell Reports 9:2279, 2014.

Limbo, O., Moiani, D., Kertokalio, A., Wyman, C., Tainer, J.A., Russell, P.  Mre11 ATLD17/18 mutation retains Tel1/ATM activity but blocks DNA double-strand break repair.  Nucl. Acids Res. 40:11435-11449, 2012.

Langerak, P., Mejia-Ramirez, E., Limbo, O., Russell, P. Release of Ku and MRN from DNA ends by Mre11 nuclease activity and Ctp1 is required for homologous recombination repair of double-strand breaks. PLoS Genet. 7:e1002271, 2011.

Williams, J.S., Williams, R.S., Dovey, C.L., Guenther, G., Tainer, J.A., Russell, P. γH2A binds Brc1 to maintain genome integrity during S-phase. EMBO J. 29:1136-1148, 2010.

Mendoza-Cozatl, D., Zhai, Z., Jobe, T., G.Z., A., Song, W. Y., Limbo, O., Russell, M., Kozlovskyy, V., Martinoia, E., Vatamaniuk, O. K., Russell, P., Schroeder, J. I. Tonoplast-localized Abc2 transporter mediates phytochelatin accumulation in vacuoles and confers cadmium tolerance.  J. Biol. Chem. 285:40416-40426, 2010.

Williams, R.S., Dodson, G.E., Limbo, O.L., Yamada, Y., Williams, J.S., Grant, G., Classen, S., Glover, J.N. M., Iwasaki, H., Russell, P., Tainer, J.A.T. Nbs1 flexibly tethers Ctp1 and Mre11-Rad50 to coordinate double-strand break processing and repair. Cell 139:87-99, 2009.

Williams, R.S., Moncalian, G., Williams, J.S., Yamada, Y., Limbo, O., Shin, D.S., Groocock, L.M., Cahill, D., Hitomi, C., Guenther, G., Moiani, D., Carney, J.P., Russell, P., Tainer, J.A. Mre11 dimers coordinate DNA end bridging and nuclease processing in double strand break repair.  Cell 135:97-109, 2008.

Limbo, O., Chahwan, C., Yamada, Y., de Bruin, R.A.M., Wittenberg, C., Russell, P. Ctp1 is a cell cycle-regulated protein that functions with Mre11 complex to control double-strand break repair by homologous recombination. Mol. Cell 28:134-146, 2007.

Gaillard, P.-H., Noguchi, E., Shanahan, P., Russell, P. The endogenous Mus81-Eme1 complex resolves Holliday Junctions by a nick and counternick mechanism.  Mol. Cell 12:747-759, 2003.

Saitoh, S., Chabes, A., McDonald, W. H., Thelander, L., Yates, J. Y. 3rd, Russell, P. Cid13 is a cytoplasmic poly(A) polymerase that regulates ribonucleotide reductase mRNA.  Cell 109:563-573, 2002.

Boddy, M. N., Gaillard, P.-H. L., McDonald, W. H., Shanahan, P., Yates, J. R., Russell, P. Mus81-Eme1 are essential components of a Holliday junction resolvase. Cell 107:537-548, 2001.

Lopez-Girona, A., Furnari, B., Mondesert, O., Russell, P. Nuclear localization of Cdc25 regulated by DNA damage and 14-3-3 protein.  Nature 397:172-175, 1999.

Boddy, M., Furnari, B., Mondesert, O., Russell, P. Replication checkpoint enforced by kinases Cds1 and Chk1.  Science 280:909-912, 1998.

Furnari, B., Rhind, N., Russell, P. Cdc25 phosphatase targeted by Chk1 checkpoint kinase.  Science 277:1495-1497, 1997.

Shiozaki, K., Russell, P. Cell-cycle control linked to the extracellular environment by MAP kinase pathway in fission yeast.  Nature 378:739-743, 1995.

Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
Cravatt, Benjamin
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lazzerini Denchi, Eros
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Niedernhofer, Laura
Phinney, Donald G.
Robbins, Paul
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty