Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Eros Lazzerini Denchi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Medicine
California Campus
Laboratory Website
(858) 784-7659

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

Our lab is interested in two essential mechanisms that ensure genomic stability in mammalian cells: Protection of chromosome ends. Because of their linear organization the terminal portion of mammalian chromosomes are unstable and can be processed by the DNA damage repair machinery resulting in genomic instability. Specialized nucleoprotein complexes termed telomeres suppress these deleterious events. During the onset of several human pathologies, such as cancer and aging, cells lose the ability to efficiently protect their chromosome ends and thus accumulate high levels of genomic instability. Research in our laboratory aims to elucidate the mechanisms by which telomeres can suppress the DNA damage response in normal cells and how these mechanisms are deregulated in human pathologies. Cell type specific cell fate in response to DNA damage. A complementary approach in the lab is to understand what factors affect the cellular response to telomere deprotection. To this end we use mouse genetics to probe the cellular fate of terminally differentiated as well as multipotent stem cells to telomere deprotection.


Ph.D., Cancer Biology, The Open University in London, 2004
B.S., Molecular Biology, University of Milan, 2000

Selected References

Lazzerini Denchi E, Sfeir A. Stop pulling my strings - what telomeres taught us about the DNA damage response. Nature reviews Molecular cell biology. 2016;17(6):364-78. Epub 2016/05/12. doi: 10.1038/nrm.2016.43. PubMed PMID: 27165790.

Mateos-Gomez  PA, Gong F, Nair N, Miller KM, Lazzerini Denchi E, Sfeir A. (2015) Mammalian Polymerase Theta Promotes Alternative-NHEJ and Suppresses Recombination. Nature. Feb 12;518(7538):254-7. PMID: 25642960

Bartocci C, Diedrich JK, Ouzounov I, Li J, Piunti A, Pasini D, Yates JR 3rd, Lazzerini Denchi E. (2014) Isolation of Chromatin from Dysfunctional Telomeres Reveals an Important Role for Ring1b in NHEJ-Mediated Chromosome Fusions. Cell Rep. 7(4):1320-32. PMCID: PMC4054697

Groocock LM, Nie M, Prudden J, Moiani D, Wang T, Cheltsov A, Rambo RP, Arvai AS, Hitomi C, Tainer JA, Luger K, Perry JJ, Lazzerini Denchi E, Boddy MN. (2014). RNF4 interacts with both SUMO and nucleosomes to promote the DNA damage response. EMBO Rep. 15(5):601-8. PMCID: PMC4210088

Okamoto K, Bartocci C, Ouzounov I, Diedrich JK, Yates Iii JR, Lazzerini Denchi E. (2013). A two-step mechanism for TRF2-mediated chromosome-end protection. Nature, 494(7438):502-5. PMCID:PMC3733551

Lazzerini Denchi, E. and de Lange, T. (2007). Protection of telomeres through independent control of ATM and ATR by TRF2 and POT1. Nature, 448(7157), 1068-1071.


Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
Cravatt, Benjamin
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lazzerini Denchi, Eros
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Niedernhofer, Laura
Phinney, Donald G.
Robbins, Paul
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty