Scripps Research Logo

Molecular Medicine


Larry Gerace, PhD

Department of Molecular Medicine
California Campus
Laboratory Website
(858) 784-8514

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Faculty, Graduate Program

Research Focus

We are interested in how the functional organization of the cell nucleus governs animal physiology and human disease.  A major focus of our research group involves the nuclear envelope (NE), the membranous sub-domain of the ER that forms the nuclear boundary and regulates information flow between the nucleus and cytoplasm.  We are particularly interested in understanding a protein meshwork lining the NE- the nuclear lamina (NL)- that controls signaling for gene regulation, interphase chromosome organization and nuclear mechanics.  We seek to unravel the core functions of NL proteins, and to determine how mutations in these components lead to “laminopathies,” a spectrum of diseases that include muscular dystrophies, metabolic disorders, neuropathies and premature aging.  We also are pursuing discovery-based approaches to unveil new regulatory pathways modulated by the NL.  We are analyzing NL functions in stem cells and mouse genetic models with a spectrum of biochemical, imaging and molecular approaches. In some of our recent studies, for example, we have found that disruption of the NL-associated protein Lem2 in different mouse tissues leads to metabolic abnormalities, muscle degeneration and other abnormalities reminiscent of laminopathies.



Ph.D., Rockefeller University, 1979
B.A., Natural Sciences, Johns Hopkins University, 1973

Awards & Professional Activities

1982-85 Searle Scholars Award; 1984-89, NIH Research Career Development Award; 1987-1990 & 1992-present Monitoring Editor, Journal of Cell Biology; 1986 Outstanding Young Scientist of Maryland; 1987 RR Bensley Award; 1988-1990 Section Editor, Current Opinion in Cell Biology; 1990 Co-chair, Program Committee for Annual Meeting of American Society for Cell Biology; 1991 Nominations Committee, American Society for Cell Biology; 1994 Co-chair, Molecular Cell Biology Gordon Conference; 1997 Organizer, Keystone Symposium on Functional Organization of the Nucleus; 1998-2005 Editorial Board, Molecular Biology of the Cell; 2000-2003 Keystone Symposia Advisory Board; 2002-2003 Editorial Board, Journal of Biological Chemistry; 2004-2008 Editorial Board, BMC Cell Biology; 2008-present, Associate Editor, BMC Cell Biology; 2011-present, Editorial Board, Nucleus; 2013-present, Member, Nuclear and Cytoplasmic Structure/Function and Dynamics NIH Study Section.

Selected References

For a complete list of publications:

Huber, M.D., Vesely, P.W., Datta, K. and Gerace L. (2013) Erlins restrict SREBP activation in the ER and regulate cellular cholesterol homeostasis. J. Cell Biol. 11:427-36. 

Naji, S., Ambrus, G., Cimermančič, P., Reyes, J.R., Johnson, J.R., Filbrandt, R., Huber, M.D. Vesely, P., Krogan, N.J., Yates III, J.R., Saphire, A.C. and Gerace, L.  (2012) Host cell interactome of HIV-1 Rev includes RNA helicases involved in multiple facets of virus production. Mol. Cell Proteomics. 4:M111.015313

Hintersteiner, M., Ambrus-Aikelin, G., Bednenko, J., Schmied, M., Gstach, H., Seifert, J., Singer E., Gerace, L. and Auer, M. (2010) Identification of a small molecule inhibitor of importin beta mediated nuclear import by confocal on-bead screening of tagged one-bead one-compound libraries. ACS Chem. Biol. 5:967-79.

Huber, M., Guan, T. and Gerace, L. (2009) Overlapping functions of nuclear membrane proteins NET25 (Lem2) and emerin in regulation of ERK signaling in myoblast differentiation. Mol. Cell Biol. 29:5718-5728. 

Liu, G.H., Guan T., Datta K., Coppinger J., Yates J.,III. and Gerace, L. (2009) Regulation of myoblast differentiation by the nuclear envelope protein NET39. Mol. Cell Biol. 29:5800-5812.

Wodrich H., Cassany A., D’Angelo M.A., Guan T., Nemerow G. and Gerace L. (2006) Adenovirus core protein pVII is translocated  into the nucleus by multiple import receptor  pathways. J. Virology. 80:9608-9618.

Ohba, T., Schirmer, E.C., Nishimoto, T. and Gerace, L. (2004) Energy and temperature dependent transport of integral proteins to the inner nuclear membrane via the nuclear pore. J. Cell Biol. 167:1051-1062.

Schirmer, E., Florens, L., Guan, T., Yates, J.R. and Gerace, L. (2003) Nuclear membrane proteins with potential disease links found by subtractive proteomics. Science. 301:1380-1382.

Cingolani, G., Bednenko, J., Gillespie, M.T. and Gerace, L.  (2002) Molecular basis for the recognition of a nonclassical nuclear localization signal by importin beta. Mol. Cell. 10:1345-1353.

Mahajan, R., Gerace, L. and Melchior, F. (1998) Molecular characterization of the SUMO-1 modification of RanGAP1 and its role in nuclear envelope association. J. Cell Biol. 140:259-270.

Molecular Medicine Seminar Series
Center for Physiological Proteomics
Department Contacts

CA Faculty

Asahara, Hiroshi
Balch, William E.
Boddy, Michael
Buxbaum, Joel
Catz, Sergio
Conti, Bruno
D'Lima, Darryl
DerMardirossian, Celine
Deryugina, Elena
Elias, Darlene
Encalada, Sandra
Felding, Brunhilde
Fowler, Velia
Friedlander, Martin
Gerace, Larry
Gottesfeld, Joel
Griffin, John
Hanneken, Anne
Heeb, Mary Jo
Henderson, Scott
Hoch, James
Johnson, Eric
Kanaji, Taisuke
Koziol, James
Lamia, Katja
Lipton, Stuart
Loring, Jeanne F.
Loskutoff, David
Lotz, Martin
Makarenkova, Helen P.
Mc Millan, Robert
Miles, Lindsey
Milner, Richard
Modena, Brian
Mosnier, Laurent
Nicholson, Laura
Paulson, James C.
Perego, Marta
Petrascheck, Michael
Pollard, Kenneth Michael
Quigley, James P.
Reed, Steven
Roberts, Edward
Rosen, Hugh
Ruggeri, Zaverio
Russell, Paul
Saez, Enrique
Smider, Vaughn
Srinivasan, Supriya
Steinhubl, Steven
Sutcliffe, J.
Tan, Eng
Topol, Eric
Vanderklish, Peter
Vogt, Peter K.
Wiseman, Luke
Wittenberg, Curt
Wolan, Dennis W.
Wu, Peng
Wu, Xiaohua
Yang, Xiang-Lei
Yates III, John

FL Faculty

Bannister, Thomas
Bohn, Laura M.
Cameron, Michael
Duckett, Derek
Gill, Matt
Griffin, Patrick
Hansen, Scott
Joazeiro, Claudio
Kamenecka, Theodore
Kissil, Joseph
Luo, Junli
McDonald, Patricia
Miller, Courtney
Phinney, Donald G.
Scampavia, Louis
Schimmel, Paul
Smith, Roy
Spicer, Timothy

Affiliated Faculty

Cline, Hollis
Kojetin, Douglas
Lairson, Luke
Paegel, Brian
Rumbaugh, Gavin
Shen, Ben
Solt, Laura A
Su, Andrew
Wu, Chunlei
Ye, Li

Adjunct Faculty