Scripps Research Logo

Michael B.A. Oldstone, M.D.

Department of Immunology and Microbial Science
California Campus
Laboratory Website
(858) 784-8054

Scripps Research Joint Appointments

Adjunct Professor, IAVI's Neutralizing Antibody Center
Faculty, Graduate Program

Other Joint Appointments

Adjunct Professor, Department of Neurosciences, UCSD School of Medicine
Resident Scholar (Professor), University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Research Focus

Viral Pathogenesis

The Viral-Immunobiology Laboratory, under the direction of Michael Oldstone, focus is on viral pathogenesis.  Interest is in understanding the molecular basis of how viruses infect cells, how the immune response aborts viruses, how viruses wrestle control away from the immune system to establish persistent infections, how persistent infection is initiated and maintained, and the mechanism of how such infections cause disease. Because viruses have different lifestyles, our studies focus on lessons taught primarily to three negative-strand viruses, lymphocytic choriomeningitis, measles and influenza viruses, and their interactions with the host's immune, nervous, and pulmonary system. The laboratory is also involved in viruses and autoimmune disease.


Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Program, University of Maryland/Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, 1959
M.D., Medicine, University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD, 1961

Awards & Professional Activities

National Academy of Sciences, 2008
Member, National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, 1996
Excellence in Mentoring Award, American Association of Immunologists, 2011
Pioneer in NeuroVirology Award, International Society for NeuroVirology, 2003
R.E. Dyer Lectureship and Directors Award (NIH) (contributions in viral pathogenesis, 2000
J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine (host-virus interactions), 1997
Biomedical Science Award, Karolinska Institute, Sweden (contributions virus/autoimmune diseases), 1994
Rous-Whipple Award (contributions in experimental pathology), 1993
Abraham Flexner Award (contributions in biomedical research), 1988
Cotzias Award (contributions in research of CNS), 1986
Burroughs Wellcome Professorship Award to work with J. Skehel, MRC, Mill Hill, UK
Elected Member, Scandinavian Society of Immunology
World Health Organization Committee for the Eradication of Poliomyelitis and Measles Virus
American Association of Physicians
American Clinical and Climatological Association
American Society for Clinical Investigation
Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology
Fellow, American Associaton for the Advancement of Science
Member, National Advisory Committee, The PEW Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences
Editor, Virology; Current Topics in Microbiology and Immunology
Editorial Board, Cell:Host Pathogen; Immunity

Selected References

Teijaro, J.R., K.B. Walsh, S. Cahalan, D.M. Fremgen, E. Roberts, F. Scott, E. Martinborough, R. Peach, M.B.A. Oldstone and H. Rosen.  Endothelial cells are central orchestrators of cytokine amplification during influenza virus infection.  Cell 146:980-991, 2011.  PMCID: PMC3176439

Sullivan, B.M., S. Emonet, M.J. Welch, A.M. Lee, K.P. Campbell, J.C. de la Torre and M.B.A. Oldstone.  Point mutation in the glycoprotein of lymphocytic choriomeningitis virus is necessary for receptor binding, dendritic cell infection, and long-term persistence.  Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 108:2969-2974, 2011.  PMCID: PMC3041138

Oldstone, M.B.A. and K.P. Campbell.  Decoding arenavirus pathogenesis: Essential roles for alpha-dystroglycan-virus interactions and the immune response.  Virology 411:170-179, 2011.  PMCID: PMC3071849

Zuniga, E.I., L.-Y. Liou, L. Mack, M. Mendoza and M.B.A. Oldstone.  Persistent virus infection inhibits type I interferon production by plasmacytoid dendritic cells to facilitate opportunistic infections.  Cell Host & Microbe 4:374-386, 2008.  PMCID: PMC2875928

Brooks, D.G., M.J. Trifilo, K.H. Edelmann, L. Teyton, D.B. McGavern and M.B.A. Oldstone.  Interleukin-10 determines viral clearance or persistence in vivo.  Nature Med. 12:1301-1309, 2006.  PMCID: PMC2535582

Cao, W., M.D. Henry, P. Borrow, H. Yamada, J.H. Elder, E.V. Ravkov, S.T. Nichol, R.W. Compans, K.P. Campbell and M.B.A. Oldstone.  Identification of α-dystroglycan as a receptor for lymphocytic choriomeningitis virus and Lassa fever virus.  Science 282:2079-2081, 1998.