Vol 5. Issue 28 / September 26, 2005


Scripps Research Papers Make Top Ten
Papers by investigators from The Scripps Research Institute continue to be among the most requested in chemistry, according to Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. Papers from Scripps Research investigators have been in the CAS's "Science Spotlight"—a list of the top-ten most requested worldwide—every quarter for the last year and a half.

Here are the Scripps Research papers in demand:

• "Click Chemistry: Diverse Chemical Function from a Few Good Reactions," by Hartmuth C. Kolb, M.G. Finn, K. Barry Sharpless, in Angewandte Chemie, International Edition (2001), 40(11), 2004-2021. ("Science Spotlight," second quarter of 2005, third quarter of 2004)

• "Towards Organo-Click Chemistry: Development of Organocatalytic Multicomponent Reactions Through Combinations of Aldol, Wittig, Knoevenagel, Michael, Diels-Alder and Huisgen Cycloaddition Reaction," by Dhevalapally Ramachary and Carlos F. Barbas III, in Chemistry—A European Journal (2004), 10(21), 5323-5331. ("Science Spotlight," first quarter of 2005)

• "In Situ Click Chemistry: Enzyme Inhibitors Made to Their Own Specifications," by Roman Manetsch, Antoni Krasinski, Zoran Radic, Jessica Raushel, Palmer Taylor, K. Barry Sharpless, and Hartmuth C. Kolb, in the Journal of the American Chemical Society (2004), 126(40), 12809-12818. ("Science Spotlight," fourth quarter of 2004)

"Total Synthesis of Apoptolidin: Construction of Enantiomerically Pure Fragments" by K. C. Nicolaou, Konstantina C. Fylaktakidou, Holger Monenschein, Yiwei Li, Bernd Weyershausen, Helen J. Mitchell, Heng-Xu Wei, Prasuna Guntupalli, David Hepworth, and Kazuyuki Sugita, in the Journal of the American Chemical Society (2003), 125(50), 15433-15442. ("Science Spotlight," fourth quarter of 2004)

"Enamine-Based Organocatalysis with Proline and Diamines: The Development of Direct Catalytic Asymmetric Aldol, Mannich, Michael, and Diels-Alder Reactions," by Wolfgang Notz, Fujie Tanaka, and Carlos F. Barbas III, in Accounts of Chemical Research (2004), 37(8), 580-591. ("Science Spotlight," fourth quarter of 2004)

"The Growing Impact of Click Chemistry on Drug Discovery," by Hartmuth C. Kolb, and K. Barry Sharpless, in Drug Discovery Today (2003), 8(24), 1128-1137. ("Science Spotlight," first, second, third, and fourth quarter of 2004).

Graduate Office Announces Fellowship Winners
The Office of Graduate Studies, Scripps Research Kellogg School of Science and Technology, has announced the students who have been selected as fellowship recipients for the 2005 - 2006 academic year. They are:

  • Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS): Joie Garfunkle, John Picuri
  • Andrea Elizabeth Vogt Memorial Award: Philippe Dagneau
  • Bagel Graduate Student Fellowship: Esther Yee-Ting Chong
  • Bauce Family Foundation: Christine Fang, Jason Jens
  • Delia Baxter Fellowship: Elizabeth Culyba
  • Donald Baxter Fellowship: Ronald Coleman
  • Norton B. Gilula Graduate Student Fellowship: Shuibing Chen, Jeffrey Johnson
  • Daniel Koshland Fellowship: Paul Krawczuk
  • Fletcher Jones Foundation: Amber Murray.


Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu