Vol 5. Issue 18 / May 23, 2005


Burton Elected to American Academy of Microbiology
Professor Dennis Burton of The Scripps Research Institute has been elected to the fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology. An honorific leadership group, the American Academy of Microbiology recognizes excellence, originality, and creativity in all subspecialities of the mirobiological sciences.

Burton designs and develops human antibodies as pathogenic probes, diagnostics, and potential therapeutics for infectious agents, such as human immunodeficiency virus type 1, respiratory syncytial virus, Ebola virus, and prion proteins.

Brownell, Thompson Win NSF Fellowships
Scripps Research Institute graduate students Sara Brownell of the Bartfai lab, and Kathryn Thompson of the Danuser lab have won National Science Foundation Fellowships, which are awarded on the basis of merit and provide three years of support.


Send comments to: mikaono[at]scripps.edu