Scripps Research Logo

News Release

Bernard Babior, M.D., Ph.D., Elected to National Academy of Sciences

La Jolla, CA, May 4, 1999 Bernard M. Babior, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine, The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI), has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences. Members are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research; election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist. The Academy membership comprises approximately 1,900 members and 300 foreign associates, of whom more than 160 have won Nobel Prizes.

Babior joined the staffs of TSRI and Scripps Clinic in 1986. Prior to this appointment, he had been a professor of medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston. Earlier in his career he also had served as Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Assisting Physician and Research Associate, Boston City Hospital; Clinical Instructor, Georgetown University Medical School and Staff Associate, National Heart Institute. Babior received a B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley, an M.D. from the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine, and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from Harvard University. He completed a residency at Boston City Hospital, Harvard Medical School and a research fellowship in medicine at Harvard Medical School.

A member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Babior is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including a Merit Award from the National Institute of Arthritis and Metabolic Diseases; the Distinguished Visiting Faculty Lecturer Award from UCSF School of Medicine; and the Stratton Award from the American Society of Hematology.

He has served on the editorial boards of many scientific journals including, among others, Blood, Journal of Clinical Investigation, Journal of Immunology, Journal of Biological Chemistry, and Current Opinion in Hematology.

For more information contact:
Office of Communications
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, California 92037