Scripps Florida Logo

Research Departments

At The Scripps Research Institute, the pursuit of scientific excellence takes an interdisciplinary approach. While the faculty are organized into 15 academic departments, these departments have soft boundaries.  Rather than defining circumscribed areas of research and isolating faculty members and laboratories into separate and distinct disciplines, the cooperative, collaborative spirit is encouraged and embraced. Below is a list of academic departments based in, or with faculty on, the Scripps Florida campus.


Department Chair

Cancer Biology

Thomas Kodadek


Dale Boger

Immunology and Microbial Science

Dennis Burton (Chair)
Mike Farzan (Vice Chair)

Metabolism and Aging

Roy Smith

Molecular Therapeutics

Patrick Griffin


Ronald L. Davis