Scripps Research Logo

Research Departments

At The Scripps Research Institute, the pursuit of scientific excellence takes an interdisciplinary approach. While the faculty are organized into 12 academic departments, these departments have soft boundaries. Rather than defining circumscribed areas of research and isolating faculty members and laboratories into separate and distinct disciplines, the cooperative, collaborative spirit is encouraged and embraced. Below is a list of academic departments based in, or with faculty on, the California campus.


Department Chair

Cell and Molecular Biology

James Paulson

Chemical Physiology

Benjamin Cravatt


Dale Boger

Committee on the Neurobiology of Addictive Disorders

Barbara Mason, Acting Chair

Immunology and Microbial Science

Dennis Burton, Chair

Argyrios Theofilopoulos, Vice Chair

Integrative Structural and Computational Biology

Ian Wilson

Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience

Hollis Cline

Molecular and Experimental Medicine

Jeffery Kelly