Scripps Research Logo

About ScrippsAssists™

Mission Statement

To be leaders in creating and sustaining focused corporate volunteer activities that build a stronger, more productive, and caring community and enhance employees' personal and professional growth.

Focus

ScrippsAssists™ seeks to provide volunteer opportunities that match the skills and interests of members and encourage their participation in group activities.

Goals

  • To improve the quality of life for the people of San Diego County
  • To demonstrate concern for the community reflective of TSRI values
  • To enhance employee morale by building a sense of teamwork through volunteer service

back to top

Committee Members & Project Leads

Wendy Havran (havran@scripps.edu), Professor, Immunology and Microbial Science, Committee Co-Advisor

Beth Ford (bethf@scripps.edu), Sr. Director, Animal Resources, Committee Co-Advisor

Amanda Roberts (aroberts@scripps.edu), Associate Professor of Molecular Neurosciences, Committee Co-Advisor

Mishelle McClanahan-Shinn (mshinn@scripps.edu), Committee Chair & Treasurer, Project Lead for Annual Craft Fair, Back-to-School Backpack Drive and San Diego Food Bank monthly service project and special events

Dee Huang (dee@scripps.edu), Director, NMR Facility, Project Lead for Torrey Pines State Reserve Monthly Trail Maintenance & Lagoon Restoration Projects

Sohyon Lee (sohyon@scripps.edu), Project Lead for San Diego Blood Bank off-campus events

Tanya Gresham (gresham@scripps.edu), Project lead for San Diego Humane Society events

Jess Gruttadauria (jgruttad@scripps.edu), Project Lead for Annual Home Start Adopt-a-Family & Toy Drive Campaigns, ElderHelp events and National MS Society events

Yvette Defreece Gibson (yvetted@scripps.edu), Project Lead for Alzheimer's San Diego outreach and events

Kevin Adam (adamk@scripps.edu), Project Lead for American Cancer Society's Relay for Life events, ScrippsAssists webmaster

John Lin (cyjlin@scripps.edu), Project Lead for Epilepsy Foundation events

Marta Perego (mperego@scripps.edu), Project Lead for St. Vincent de Paul’s Sunday Lunch Monthly Service Project

Leslie Madden (lmadden@scripps.edu), Project Lead for on-campus San Diego Blood Bank Drives

 

... In need..., New project Lead to take over the on-campus San Diego Blood Bank Drives

 

Committee Meetings

Currently the Committee meets at Noon-1pm on the third Thursday of the month in the BCC3 - Keck Foundation Conference Room (3rd floor) in the Beckman Building. If you are interested in attending, please email us at sagroup@scripps.edu.

back to top

Leadership Opportunities

Co-Chairs

  • 1 year – 9 months plus 3 month overlap
  • Transitions in February and October (outside of summer and holiday season)

Project Development & Project Lead Support

  • Assisting new project leads in getting their project launched
  • Provide support, ideas, suggestions and guidelines
  • Answer questions

TSRI Membership Development & Outreach

  • Working with Communication Department on articles
  • Generating ideas and events for connecting with the TSRI population
  • Updating upcoming events calendar

New Hire Membership Development & Outreach

  • Working with HR and/or attending New hire orientation to present ScrippsAssists™
  • Create a 90-day welcome event
  • Sending an email welcome and invitation to participate
  • Follow up at 90+75 days and at 1 year (or some other time line)

Volunteer Participation Management

  • Maintain participation records from Project leads (monthly)
  • Luncheon project committee (awards, certificates, location, invites, food, etc.)
  • Create luncheon event (invites, food, speakers, etc.)
volunteer

back to top

ScrippsAssists logo


For more information, email sagroup@scripps.edu



facebook