Scripps Research Logo

Faculty Honors and Awards

As stipulated in Alfred Nobel's will, the Nobel Prize is bestowed on individuals who "have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind."

Current Faculty K. Barry Sharpless, PhD, 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry "for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions"
Kurt Wüthrich, PhD, 2002 Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution”
Former Faculty Gerald M. Edelman (1929 - 2014), MD, PhD, 1972 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for "discoveries concerning the chemical structure of antibodies"
Bruce Beutler, MD, 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for “discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity” (awarded when at TSRI)
Board of Scientific Governors Sydney Brenner, CH FRS, 2002 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for “discoveries concerning genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death” (also affiliated with the TSRI faculty)
Walter Gilbert, PhD, 1980 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for " contributions concerning the determination of base sequences in nucleic acids"
Paul Greengard, PhD, 2000 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for “discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system"

Members elected to the academy are recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research in science.

Phil S. Baran, PhD, 2017, chemistry
Floyd E. Bloom, MD, 1977, cellular and molecular neuroscience
Dale L. Boger, PhD, 2014, chemistry
Francis V. Chisari, MD, 2002, microbial biology
Benjamin Cravatt, PhD, 2014, chemical physiology
Gerald F. Joyce, MD, PhD, 2001, biochemistry
Steve Kay, PhD, 2008, plant biology
Richard A. Lerner, MD, 1991, chemistry
Michael B.A. Oldstone, MD, 2008, microbial biology
Ardem Patapoutian, PhD, 2017, neuroscience
Julius Rebek, Jr., PhD, 1994, chemistry
Paul Schimmel, PhD, 1990, biochemistry
Peter Schultz, PhD, 1993, chemistry
K. Barry Sharpless, PhD, 1985, chemistry
Peter K. Vogt, PhD, 1980, microbial biology
Charles Weissmann, MD, PhD, 1989, cellular/molecular biology
Ian Wilson, PhD, (foreign associate) 2016, structural and computational biology
Chi-Huey Wong, PhD, 2002, chemistry
Peter Wright, PhD, 2008, biophysics and computational biology
Kurt Wüthrich, PhD, 1992, chemistry

Members are elected for their excellence and professional achievement in a field relevant to the National Academy of Medicine’s mission and their willingness to participate actively in its work.

Floyd E. Bloom, MD 1982
Francis V. Chisari, MD, 2003
Thomas S. Edgington, MD, 1997
Gerald Joyce, MD, PhD, 2014
Michael B. Oldstone, MD, 1996
Paul Schimmel, PhD, 2005
Peter Schultz, PhD, 1998
Eric J. Topol, MD, 2004
Peter K. Vogt, PhD, 2003

Peer-elected members represent the world’s most accomplished engineers.

Donna Blackmond, PhD, 2013

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation awards fellowships, commonly known as “genius grants,” to individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.

Phil Baran, PhD, 2013
Jin-Quan Yu, PhD, 2016

Providing advice to decision makers in government, academia and the private sector, members represent the full range of disciplines and professions, including mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs and the arts.

Phil Baran, PhD, 2015
Donna Blackmond, PhD, 2016
Floyd E. Bloom, MD, 1978
Dale L. Boger, PhD, 2006
Benjamin Cravatt. PhD, 2016
Gerald Joyce, MD, PhD, 2012
Jeffery Kelly, PhD, 2016
Richard A. Lerner, MD, 2000
Julius Rebek, Jr., PhD, 1993
Paul Schimmel, PhD, 1987
Peter Schultz, PhD, 1990
K. Barry Sharpless, PhD, 1984
Peter K. Vogt, PhD, 2005
Charles Weissmann, MD, PhD, 2008
James R. Williamson, PhD, 2010
Ian W. Wilson, PhD, 2002
Chi-Huey Wong, PhD, 1996
Peter E. Wright, PhD, 1995
Kurt Wüthrich, PhD, 1993

Elected by their peers, AAAS Fellows are recognized for their meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications. 

Phil Baran, PhD
Tamas Bartfai, PhD
Floyd E. Bloom, MD,
Dale L. Boger, PhD
Francis V. Chisari, MD
Hollis Cline, PhD
Benjamin Cravatt, PhD
Ronald Davis, PhD
Thomas S. Edgington, MD
M. Reza Ghadiri, PhD
Kim D. Janda, PhD
Steve Kay, PhD
Thomas Kodadek, PhD
George Koob, PhD
Richard A. Lerner, MD
Donald E. Mosier, MD, PhD
Michael B. Oldstone, MD
Julius Rebek, Jr., PhD
William Roush, PhD
Erica Ollmann Saphire, PhD
Paul Schimmel, PhD
Peter G. Schultz, PhD
K. Barry Sharpless, PhD
Ben Shen, PhD
Eng M. Tan, MD
J. Lindsay Whitton, MD, PhD
Curt Wittenberg, PhD
Chi-Huey Wong, PhD
Peter E. Wright, PhD
Kurt Wüthrich, PhD
Jin-Quan Yu, PhD

An international award granted in Israel, the Wolf Prize in Chemistry is presented annually to living scientists for “achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples...” 

Richard A. Lerner, MD, 1994/95
Peter Schultz, PhD, 1994/95
K. Barry Sharpless, PhD, 2001
Chi-Huey Wong, PhD, 2014

Election to the society honors extraordinary accomplishments in all fields of intellectual endeavor.

Floyd E. Bloom, MD
Paul Schimmel, PhD
Peter Vogt, PhD